Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 11-27-2011, 11:51 PM
LawnSite Member

Mini Skid & Trenchers - Help Please

I'm looking to pick up a second mini skid steer to work on our new irrigaiton crew next year. This will be our first year with irrigation so I'm completely new to the game. We have planned to concentrate on residential installs and small commercial jobs.

As I'm looking at trenchers to buy I see there are all different sizes and types. What size do most use for this type of work - how deep do the irrigation trenches need to go? We are located in the southeast missouri, northwest tennessee, west kentucky area.

Also I'm looking at a mini skid steer to tug the trencher around. Will a 20 horse gas engine be big enough - like on a Bobcat MT50 or Dingo 420... Or would it be smart to go bigger and diesel to complete these tasks.

Do most trench and then hard pipe in pvc or are you ripping and installing a flexible pipe?

Thanks for the help.
Old 11-28-2011, 01:54 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

We prefer Diesel engines on our equipment. We had a Toro Dingo with the Kohler that ended up needing 3 engines before we scrapped it. We have 2 Toro 320D's with the Kubota that perform far superior to the gas unit. We also just put a Vermeer S800TX and the new S650TX into service recently and absolutely love them so far. Probably the most expensive out of the mini's but the quality is much better that the Dingo's and Vermeer parts support in our area is great. Keep that in mind when you are making your decision.

We liked the Dingo's and it was the machine that kind of created the mini market, but parts support was terrible and even worse the the price's Toro was charging for the parts. Great machine, but just ended up not being tough enough for the rocky soil in our area. We needed something just built stronger and with more power so we ended up going with Vermeer.

Last edited by Irrigation Contractor; 11-28-2011 at 02:01 AM.
Old 11-28-2011, 06:47 AM