Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 12-14-2011, 08:15 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

What should I do?

It is that time of year again when the customer dosen't think he needs to pay the full monthly bill, because I only cut 2 times in the month. I have been mowing for him since 2006. Every year about this time he questions it. I bill the same monthly all year. He dropped me last year to go to a cheaper guy. 4 months later he calls me back because the lco did'nt always show up. Well alot of the neighbors on the block have this other guy that charges $15 per cut. He gets a ton of work in the neighborhood because of his cheap price.That would be $30 per month in the winter and $60/mo in the summer. (Full service mow ,trim bushes , weed control ect)My customer asked me if I can come up with a plan to make it cheaper in the winter months or he will switch to the other lco. I also mow his friends house and his friend wants to do the same thing. This is an older community 75+. I charge $65 per month. Small postage stamp yard. What should I do? I was thinking about calling him to tell him that I wont go lower. Enough is enough. I will probably lose 2 customers out of this. There are about 30 or so lco's that mow in this community. Most charge under $75.
Old 12-14-2011, 08:23 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Tough one! No one wants to lose accounts, but I guess I would ask myself, "Am I losing $" if i dump them/him?
04 F350 Diesel
3 60" Toro Zmaster/Lesco 48"
3 8'2" Boss V-Plows
20' Enclosed trailer/16' Open trailer
18' Skid Loader Trailer
S185 Bobcat 2-Speed

Old 12-14-2011, 08:35 PM
LawnSite Gold Member