Register free!

Old 12-27-2011, 05:46 PM
LawnSite Member

looking to get into fert applications

I'm located in mass. and looking to get into applications, but i have no experience with it. I would appreciate any advice on the best way to get started. I know you need a license in my state. I am also nervous of burning customers lawns so i would like to get this down before i do any applications.
Old 12-27-2011, 06:05 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Practice on your own lawn first! Read the bag if it has instructions. Its pretty hard to burn a lawn if you follow instructions. Do a google search or search on here. The test to get your license will give you a lot of info.
Old 12-27-2011, 10:17 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

TGCL has a 4-6 step program for cool season grasses that can be imitiated or you could actually build healthy turf by charging the client less money... Most people simply imitate TGCL/Scotts and you'll be fine...
Old 12-27-2011, 10:45 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

here is a site you should become very familiar with http://www.mass.gov/agr/pesticides/index.htm Check with different vendors, most offer training seminars over the winter. How many accounts do you have? About 50% of my accounts are subcontracted for LCO's. Feel free to contact me any questions
Old 12-28-2011, 06:03 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

The Wisco test is mostly about 'calibrating the sprayers or dusters' , very little about How chemicals work, how fertilizers works, why some times better than others, and other information necessary for wise applications...

Therefore, most people get their lawn information from the label on a Scott's bag... Written by salesmen... It is better to understand a little Botany and plant nutrition...

Then when you learn "How pesticides work", then you'll be able to put together a sensible plan and be able to figure out solutions to problems as they may arise...
Old 12-28-2011, 10:29 AM
LawnSite Member