Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 01-05-2012, 02:34 PM
LawnSite Member

New Startup ???

Well I have been along time lurker here and I just spent allot of time reading post about start ups. Why is there so much negativity here? I too am looking for advice and encouragement on going on my own but I am really afraid to ask for suggestions here on many different things for fear to be flamed. My background is I have been working for family in the lawn-care business for the past 2 years. I lost my job and did not want my government handout. The family owner is not the smartest bulb on the tree "can't read at all I do it for him" and tends to yell to make himself feel better. Well my question is should I start my own in today's economy? How big or small should I be for a one man show? What is your max size lawn for push mowing with 21"? When should you get a 48"? I would also like to hear more about pricing your work and what you get for different types of work "lawn cuts, mulch, flower beds, etc.....)? Please don't take some of my comments wrong we all was new sometime.
Old 01-05-2012, 06:53 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Welcome to the forums! As far as starting up here's my story for you.

I'm 21 years old, married with almost two year old twins. I had plans to go into the US Army and had a ship date for October 2011. From the time I signed the papers to the time I was going to ship I was doing lawn care. I had a yard machine's by MTD push mower (not self propelled) and a weed eater brand line trimmer. I started posting on craigslist just trying to make extra money before I shipped out and well the calls came! So many that I had to turn down a ton of work because I could only handle 5-6 properties per day.