Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 01-09-2012, 06:47 PM
LawnSite Member

Tips on pricing yards.

I am in my second year in the lawn care business. One of the hardest things that I had trouble with was the pricing of my yards. I know that overhead and different variable play a part, but does anyone have a simple way of doing it? I have heard people price by simply $1 per minute on a job and then by the acre. Just wanting some ideas from the experienced out there. Thanks!
Old 01-09-2012, 07:21 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

A few tips people on here have given me is to set a hourly wage say $60hr and the property would take 30 minutes then you would get $30. Its an easy way to do it.

Now figuring how long it will take is a different story. Usually depends on the terrain, obstacles, fence or no fence (You will have to line trim the perimeter resulting in more time), Rock drive way or pavement (rock you don't really need to spend a ton of time edging since you don't need a CRISP edge or anything. Now thats the hardest part that I even have issues with.

I hope I helped!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CRQualityMowing View Post
I am in my second year in the lawn care business. One of the hardest things that I had trouble with was the pricing of my yards. I know that overhead and different variable play a part, but does anyone have a simple way of doing it? I have heard people price by simply $1 per minute on a job and then by the acre. Just wanting some ideas from the experienced out there. Thanks!
Old 01-09-2012, 07:28 PM
LawnSite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by CRQualityMowing View Post
The best way to price your mowing jobs is based on how long you think it will take you to do the lawn X $1 per minute.

For Example: If i think a job is going to take me 45 min to do the mowing job, then i am going to charge $45-$55.I may even charge more, but i won't do it for less. After you do a few mowing jobs, you'll get the hang of it.