Register free!


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-25-2012, 11:35 PM
Steve Atkinson Steve Atkinson is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NorCalif
Posts: 93
Thanks for the info, Mike! I thought Zane had gone out of business. Will look them up on the web again for a close distributor, but if not here I will talk to Terradek.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-26-2012, 01:18 AM
S&MLL S&MLL is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Somerset County NJ
Posts: 764
Zane is expensive. Your halfway to abt for one dimmer.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-02-2012, 11:53 AM
drewguy drewguy is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: D.C.
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightScenes View Post
You can use just about any normal 15 amp switch on the secondary side to control a few lights. You can also use a low voltage dimmer if you want to cut it back a little, no problem.
If they're rated 15A is it okay to use it to control more than ~180W of light?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-02-2012, 02:33 PM
S&MLL S&MLL is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Somerset County NJ
Posts: 764
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewguy View Post
If they're rated 15A is it okay to use it to control more than ~180W of light?
180 would be maxed out. Spend a few extra dollars for a 20amp or mix in some LED and get that wattage down
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-14-2012, 06:59 PM
Uniqueilluminator's Avatar
Uniqueilluminator Uniqueilluminator is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2
A few things you might want to consider.

1. Depending on how many lights you plan on switching is going to dictate what Gage wire and also what switch you will need. Its pretty simple just use ohm's law to figure out your amperage.

example: lets say you had 4 lights you wanted to switch, that would be 200 watts total. I assume you are using a 12 volt lighting system so here is the math: 200watts / 12volts= 15.4 amps.

12 gage wire is rated for 20 amps and national electrcal code states you must de-rate that to 80% so your max usable amperage would be 16 amps.
(20amps x .8 = 16amps)

Code also says that you cannot install a 15 amp rated switch on a circuit that is rated for 20amps. so if you plan on using 12 gage wire then stick with a 20 amp rated switch.

2. I am not sure what size transformer you are using and how many total watts you are loading onto it but keep in mind that ALL magnetic core transformers will drop in voltage when you load them up. So keep in mind that if you are running other lights off this transformer when you switch the lights on the voltage will go down to the other light on that unit or the opposite when you turn them off, (depending on how you want to look at it.)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-22-2012, 09:25 PM
GreenI.A.'s Avatar
GreenI.A. GreenI.A. is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North East
Posts: 2,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uniqueilluminator View Post
2. I am not sure what size transformer you are using and how many total watts you are loading onto it but keep in mind that ALL magnetic core transformers will drop in voltage when you load them up. So keep in mind that if you are running other lights off this transformer when you switch the lights on the voltage will go down to the other light on that unit or the opposite when you turn them off, (depending on how you want to look at it.)
If I am understanding you correctly- what you are saying is that if you have multiple runs coming from the transformer and one of those runs has a switch on it, the voltage will drop across all of the lights when you turn the switch on. If you turn the switch off, the voltage will increase on the other runs? Wouldn't the multitaps on the transformer prevent one run (weather switched on or off) from effecting the other main runs all together? Unless you are talking about having one run with say 6 fixtures on it and only 2 are on the secondary installed switch, in which case I fallow you.

I don't understand how a dimmer on the run would work, wouldn't dimming the line drop the voltage to levels that would prematurely ware the bulbs out. I just happened to be on Cast's sight and saw something verysimular that they pointed out. http://www.cast-lighting.com/search/...y-document/118
__________________
Why do people not respect us as they do other tradesmen? Because every Tom, Dick, and Harry doesn't think he can be a plumber or electrician!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-22-2012, 09:54 PM
NightScenes's Avatar
NightScenes NightScenes is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kingsland, Texas
Posts: 2,196
Steve, I get mine through Terradek.
__________________

Paul R Gosselin, Sr., CLVLT(#0632)
NightScenes Corporation
Director, AOLP
www.night-scenes.com
www.facebook.com/NightScenes
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-22-2012, 09:57 PM
NightScenes's Avatar
NightScenes NightScenes is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kingsland, Texas
Posts: 2,196
The switch effects the line that it is attached to but anytime you change the secondary load on the tranformer it does effect (very slightly) everything else on the transformer.
__________________

Paul R Gosselin, Sr., CLVLT(#0632)
NightScenes Corporation
Director, AOLP
www.night-scenes.com
www.facebook.com/NightScenes
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-22-2012, 10:13 PM
S&MLL S&MLL is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Somerset County NJ
Posts: 764
Just go with something simple and has a proven track record....x10

Just kidding. Abt is the way to go. Your clients will love it. Its cheap,fantastic range and very reliable
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-23-2012, 12:13 PM
OKSooner's Avatar
OKSooner OKSooner is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by S&MLL View Post
Just go with something simple and has a proven track record....x10

Just kidding. Abt is the way to go. Your clients will love it. Its cheap,fantastic range and very reliable
Yeah, thanks. Picked up the ABT remote yesterday and will be installing it hopefully "very soon".

Thanks to all for your input.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:28 PM.

Page generated in 0.09725 seconds with 7 queries