Register free!

Old 01-26-2012, 04:05 PM
LawnSite Member

Expanding into fert/spray. Need help with equipment decision.

Hi all,

Not new to the green industry, but new to the lawncare side of it. I currently have a grass cutting company with 3 crews out and I have a forth truck I wiuld like to setup with a sprayer as well as a 7x14 enclosed I would like to outfit with aerator/detatch/overseeder, fert etc etc. Hoping to keep 1 guy busy this year with the setup.

I am in the process of getting my exterminator licence here (ontario ) And I am going to have one of my guys do the technician coarse so he can spray under me.

I have a an opportunity to purchase a good used Gregson Clark 200 gallon unit. Looking for input. pros, cons, opinions on size of tank.

I am just starting out with this side of things so I wont have a huge volume of lawns to spray.

Name:  v200-truck-lg.jpg
Views: 167
Size:  28.5 KB
CASE 95XT Skidsteer w/10ft pusher
BOBCAT ct230 Compact Tractor
STIHLS & ECHOS
2 Enclosed & 2 Flat Beds
BUYERS Salters & ARCTIC Plows

Old 01-26-2012, 06:43 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

The 200 gallon set up should work fine. Plus and hand spreader. Of course, you are probably aware spraying for weeds is illegal in Ontario. Green central. So you will have to sneak contraband Weed b Gone across the boder at Niagara falls.

May I suggest minutes of hand weeding with each treatment. And follow up with a dense type of bluegrass seed. Add a heavy shot of fertilizer to increase density.
Old 01-26-2012, 07:01 PM
LawnSite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by RigglePLC View Post
The 200 gallon set up should work fine. Plus and hand spreader. Of course, you are probably aware spraying for weeds is illegal in Ontario. Green central. So you will have to sneak contraband Weed b Gone across the boder at Niagara falls.

May I suggest minutes of hand weeding with each treatment. And follow up with a dense type of bluegrass seed. Add a heavy shot of fertilizer to increase density.
LOL thanks,