Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 02-08-2012, 09:16 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Time of Day??

What time do most of you guys usually get started in the morning? I have a dilemma, I am a school teacher full time and I'm starting a side business to make ends meet. I'll be doing some light construction but mainly I'll be doing lawn maintenance. The spring and fall might be tight for me time wise. In other words, I'll have to do my mowing on weekends only. I don't have time to mow after school, I don't get home till after 5. Once school is out for the summer, it's not an issue. I'm not looking for a million accounts, but to make this work I need 15-20 lawns/ That's doable in 2 days. But I'm wondering what the customers feelings would be if I show up at 8am on Sunday morning. I'm thinking Saturday shouldn't be too much of an issue with starting early, but maybe on Sunday I'd need to wait till 11 am or so as to not disturb the peace.

What do you guys think?
Old 02-08-2012, 09:26 AM
LawnSite Member

Monday - Friday we start at 7am ... From 7-9:30 we cut all commercial so we do not wake residential customers up, after 9:30 we cut both residential and commercial.
Saturday - We do mulch, shrub trimming and side work this day so 7am if its commercial and 8:30 if it's residential.
Sunday - Day off =]
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 02-08-2012, 09:38 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by R&S Lawn Service View Post
Monday - Friday we start at 7am ... From 7-9:30 we cut all commercial so we do not wake residential customers up, after 9:30 we cut both residential and commercial.
Saturday - We do mulch, shrub trimming and side work this day so 7am if its commercial and 8:30 if it's residential.
Sunday - Day off =]
Posted via Mobile Device
Pretty much the times I try to stick too. Only yard tht gets cut on sundays is my house & maybe a commercial(tha is closed) if weather during the week threw me off schedule.