Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 02-10-2012, 06:51 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Replacing a motor

I have an Encore 36 walk behind with a Kawasaki FC420V. Its probably got a good 2500 hrs on it. Unfortunately its run its course and I need to replace it.

Basically I noticed small amounts of oil on my shop floor where it was parked and as time went by the amounts of oil got larger. One day while mowing I stopped to pick up some trash and looked at the front of the motor. I noticed oil spraying out where it attaches to the deck. I thought it might be a gasket so I took it up to my mechanic. He told me what he thought it was ( I dont remember) and quoted me $1300.00 to rebuild the motor.

After some research I found some online distributors that have motors in the $700-950 range.

My questions are this:

I see that the FC420 is no longer available. What is a comprable replacement from Kawasaki for it?

As far as replacing. Im a halfway decent mechanic. I can replace the belts and adjust the hydros, stuff like that. How does one go about doing this?

I noticed it has 4 bolts. Do I just remove those bolts, lift the motor off and put the new on?

Im pretty tight with my money so I would rather do this myself.

Thanks.
Old 02-10-2012, 07:08 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Subscribing, interesting thread.

I have an older Bobcat WB with the same motor. Still running strong though, one pull.
Old 02-10-2012, 07:14 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

It starts great. It just requires a quart of oil every other day...
Old 02-10-2012, 07:46 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

I dont understand why he would even quote you a rebuild if he wants more than what a new 15HP Kawasaki would sell for.

If it isnt burning oil, I would look into finding the leak and fixing it. An oil leak doesnt need a rebuild. Now if there is a hole or crack in a major part of the engine then it isnt worth it.