Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-20-2012, 04:02 PM
jvanvliet's Avatar
jvanvliet jvanvliet is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 3,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wet_Boots View Post
Does the controller have a choice of input voltage? Changing it to 240 from 120 would cut the current draw in half. You may not have the luxury of changing to a 50-amp breaker, depending on the wiring.

It's a rainbird ESM 110VAC.

TECO is Chinese, so far as I can tell - it looks like you are running a motor that should have a higher ampacity circuit. Maybe someone bumped up from 5 HP
That's exactly what happened. Half ass: burned out POS K-Rain relay, wiring melted and fubared, nobody knows WTF? Guy who originally installed it is history. It's not all bad though

The line on this pump station comes off a 50amp breaker in a sub-panel by to pool area about 100ft away. I'm going to call in my electrician and see if we can swap breaker at the pump, or by pass it completly and install a switch.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-20-2012, 04:13 PM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 39,619
Controller power transformers are going to be standard components - maybe Rainbird has an export model of the controller, and its power transformer might make a fit, if it came down to saving a fraction of an amp, which of course it shouldn't have to.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-20-2012, 04:25 PM
Sprinkus's Avatar
Sprinkus Sprinkus is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,814
What is the amperage draw on each leg while pump is running?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-20-2012, 04:39 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sprinkus View Post
What is the amperage draw on each leg while pump is running?
thinking loose neutral sprinkus?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-20-2012, 05:31 PM
jvanvliet's Avatar
jvanvliet jvanvliet is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 3,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1idejim View Post
thinking loose neutral sprinkus?
You mean at the motor?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-20-2012, 05:32 PM
jvanvliet's Avatar
jvanvliet jvanvliet is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 3,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sprinkus View Post
What is the amperage draw on each leg while pump is running?
Will have to check, tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-20-2012, 05:32 PM
Sprinkus's Avatar
Sprinkus Sprinkus is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1idejim View Post
thinking loose neutral sprinkus?
First thought is that the controller and pump start on one side of the circuit could be causing a current imbalance to the pump. (Too much current draw on the one leg tripping breaker)
Second thought is that there may be a fault in the wiring to the panel, to the pump, or in the pump itself, which is causing the breaker to trip.
Third thought is that I need another pain pill to think clearly.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-20-2012, 05:48 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sprinkus View Post
First thought is that the controller and pump start on one side of the circuit could be causing a current imbalance to the pump. (Too much current draw on the one leg tripping breaker)
Second thought is that there may be a fault in the wiring to the panel, to the pump, or in the pump itself, which is causing the breaker to trip.
Third thought is that I need another pain pill to think clearly.
i truely wish i could come down there and help you out, with the work load that is.

i have had loose neutrals on mains that read 120vac +/- on one side and as low as 17 vac on the other. the imballance on a 220 circuit might be enough to trip the breaker but i think i would lean more toward wiring.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-20-2012, 06:16 PM
jvanvliet's Avatar
jvanvliet jvanvliet is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 3,934
I'll check the wiring again. I'm pretty good making sure it's all as tight as a clams butt. But you never know...

I'll check the voltage again.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-20-2012, 06:22 PM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 39,619
If the pump-start relay has a 120VAC coil, it might be arranged for it to draw from a different leg of the 240 volt circuit than the controller does, saving maybe half an amp or so.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:41 AM.

Page generated in 0.09142 seconds with 8 queries