Register free!


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #41  
Old 02-21-2012, 07:49 AM
jvanvliet's Avatar
jvanvliet jvanvliet is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 3,935
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sprinkus View Post
Could be that the controller controls the ice cube with 24 vac and the ice cube controls the pump start with 110 vac, if the PSR coil is a 110 coil.
Most of the larger PSR's I deal with use 110 coils.
The TECO was installed by me. As Sprinkus said, I need the ice cube because the controller puts out 24V to the Master valve, and the PSR is a 110V coil (Mike, the Ice Cube is a 24V switch that sends a 110V to the PSR.)

It's the first Teco I've installed but not the first PSR. I've had to use ice cubes with the older Rainbird LX series (dominant in my market area). Hoover Systems on the other hand use a 110V.

I would not consider using a Hunter, k-Rain or Orbit PSR's on commercial installations.

I'm going to re-check all the wiring (3rd time) then test, if no success , I'll by pass the sprinkler sub panel. I still think I have a load issue, 40AMP is on the cusp for a 7.5HP motor and controller.

Great input, I really appreciate it, Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 02-21-2012, 09:36 AM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Leary View Post
Sure be nice if one of you "pros" would explain why an "ice cube" was used in a single clock situation. Pump start relays can be wired any which way (115/240), so I don't understand this whole deal, but, it is Florida.
Some pump relays with 24VAC coils will be seen as short circuits by modern controllers, so the icecube relay serves as intermediary
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 02-21-2012, 09:39 AM
Sprinkus's Avatar
Sprinkus Sprinkus is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,847
Can you temporarily choke back the pump output at a gate/ball valve, just enough to restrict some of the flow out of the pump, and check if it pops the breaker?
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 02-21-2012, 09:41 AM
Sprinkus's Avatar
Sprinkus Sprinkus is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wet_Boots View Post
Some pump relays with 24VAC coils will be seen as short circuits by modern controllers, so the icecube relay serves as intermediary
Especially the controller that's being used.
That particular model has given me problems before.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 02-21-2012, 10:11 AM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvanvliet View Post
...............I would not consider using a Hunter, k-Rain or Orbit PSR's on commercial installations...........
I wouldn't worry about a Hunter PSR - at most they contribute the case, as witness the Square D relay in post #37
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 02-21-2012, 11:21 AM
Sprinkus's Avatar
Sprinkus Sprinkus is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvanvliet View Post
220VAC single pole
I assume this was just written wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 02-21-2012, 11:36 AM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sprinkus View Post
I assume this was just written wrong.
maybe the system's in Australia
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 02-21-2012, 12:08 PM
jvanvliet's Avatar
jvanvliet jvanvliet is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 3,935
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sprinkus View Post
I assume this was just written wrong.
220VAC single pole

220VAC single phase

one pole is not enough, you'll need one pole and a russian
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 02-21-2012, 12:17 PM
jvanvliet's Avatar
jvanvliet jvanvliet is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 3,935
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sprinkus View Post
Can you temporarily choke back the pump output at a gate/ball valve, just enough to restrict some of the flow out of the pump, and check if it pops the breaker?
I can throttle back the pump if I can get it to run through the PSR, but the breaker trips immediately after I re-set it. When I disconnect the Ice Cube, no problem.

That's what has me so messed up. All the wiring is proper and tight in the blocks or caps.

I suppose I could bypass the PSR, throttle the pump back some and see if the increased load will trip the breaker.

I have pictures but can't find the USB cable to get them off the camera.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 02-21-2012, 12:47 PM
Mike Leary's Avatar
Mike Leary Mike Leary is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cactus Hug, Arizona
Posts: 20,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wet_Boots View Post
Some pump relays with 24VAC coils will be seen as short circuits by modern controllers, so the icecube relay serves as intermediary
Thanks, Boots. Sure had me confused.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:58 AM.

Page generated in 0.09635 seconds with 8 queries