Register free!


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #51  
Old 02-21-2012, 02:39 PM
Sprinkus's Avatar
Sprinkus Sprinkus is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,847
The restriction should actually decrease the load.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 02-21-2012, 07:05 PM
jvanvliet's Avatar
jvanvliet jvanvliet is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 3,935
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sprinkus View Post
The restriction should actually decrease the load.
How so?

Bypassed the 40 amp breaker, no problems.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 02-21-2012, 07:11 PM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,596
Is all the wiring rated for a 50-amp load?
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 02-21-2012, 09:54 PM
Mike Leary's Avatar
Mike Leary Mike Leary is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cactus Hug, Arizona
Posts: 20,574
This thread is nuts, IMHO. No real information has been forthcoming to make any of us even get close to the problem. Love to help, but the OP has to do some research before putting the questions to the forum. I'd be calling my pump guy and electrician, were I in that state.

Last edited by Mike Leary; 02-21-2012 at 09:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 02-22-2012, 07:50 AM
jvanvliet's Avatar
jvanvliet jvanvliet is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 3,935
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wet_Boots View Post
Is all the wiring rated for a 50-amp load?
Apparently, #6 wiring coming into the the sub-panel; Master breaker is about 60 ft away. The HO originally operated a 7.5 HP motor and then replaced it with a 5 HP, when it failed it was replaced with a 7.5 HP.

Electrician is coming to swap the breaker.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 02-22-2012, 08:01 AM
jvanvliet's Avatar
jvanvliet jvanvliet is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 3,935
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Leary View Post
This thread is nuts, IMHO. No real information has been forthcoming to make any of us even get close to the problem. Love to help, but the OP has to do some research before putting the questions to the forum. I'd be calling my pump guy and electrician, were I in that state.
What information are you looking for?

Rainbird ESM Controller 24V Master Valve relay; Teco 7.5 HP PSR; Teco 24V Ice Cube Relay; Baldor 7.5 HP motor; 40 Amp circuit.

Problem: circuit trips when pump start is initiated.

Wiring proper and secure; voltage nominal; load to motor 36.46 amps (peak); clock and pump on same circuit.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 02-22-2012, 01:33 PM
Mike Leary's Avatar
Mike Leary Mike Leary is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cactus Hug, Arizona
Posts: 20,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvanvliet View Post
clock and pump on same circuit.
Hmm I've never done that, and Boots' explanation of why the (ice cube) relay was installed does not get it. either. Can the clock and pump be separated to isolate one or the other?

Last edited by Mike Leary; 02-22-2012 at 01:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 02-22-2012, 06:09 PM
jvanvliet's Avatar
jvanvliet jvanvliet is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 3,935
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Leary View Post
Hmm I've never done that, and Boots' explanation of why the (ice cube) relay was installed does not get it. either. Can the clock and pump be separated to isolate one or the other?
The clock puts out 24V to the master valve. In order to initiate the PSR, I need 110V (it has a 110v holding coil), since I'm only getting 24V from the controller, I install the ice cube relay; it acts as a switch and send the 110v to the PSR. This is not an unusual application down here.

A Hunter has a 24V holding coil, but is not adequate for this application in that it doesn't have a load sensor and interrupt. Hunter is fine for a HO application and I've used them there.

I've seen too many Hunter/K-Rain/Orbit PSR's go bad on large installations. Usual symptom is motor doesn't initiate & melted wire; I'm guessing the relay starts to wear and begins to chatter (which was the problem here originally)or loose connections.

Installers will put them in because they cost between $60 + $80. The Teco costs me $450.00 with the Ice Cube and retails for about $800.00

As far as the controller and the pump being on the same circuit, it's also not unusual here, the typical builder shortcut. It would be too costly at this time to run a separate 110 V line out to the pump station just for the controller.

Anyway, the problem is resolved, breaker has been switched and the pump sucks the chrome off trailer hitches.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 02-22-2012, 06:15 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 7,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvanvliet View Post
How so?

Bypassed the 40 amp breaker, no problems.
when the flow is restricted, the pump requires less current to keep up with the demand, same theory the cycle stop uses.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 02-22-2012, 06:26 PM
jvanvliet's Avatar
jvanvliet jvanvliet is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 3,935
I C Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:35 AM.

Page generated in 0.09496 seconds with 8 queries