Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2012, 01:22 PM
Hineline's Avatar
Hineline Hineline is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 468
Just bought a used Centri for 500.00

It's going to need a new pump. Has anyone used this one from TSC?

http://www.tractorsupply.com/high-fl...5#BVRRWidgetID

I also need to patch a hole in the tank. A new tank is 180.00 Wow!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-21-2012, 02:57 PM
RigglePLC's Avatar
RigglePLC RigglePLC is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 9,138
I am not sure the one gpm pump is strong enough. I think I would go with the 2gpm pump, just to be sure.

You don't want to risk not having enough pressure if the battery is slightly low or the pump gets a bit worn next year.

I did buy a pump from TSC 2 years ago--but I don't recall if it was 1 or 1.8 gpm. Brand was "High-Flo", otherwise very similar. Cost was around $65.
Here is the pic before installation.
http://lawnsite.com/album.php?albumid=49&pictureid=324

Last edited by RigglePLC; 02-21-2012 at 03:00 PM. Reason: add link
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2012, 03:16 PM
Hineline's Avatar
Hineline Hineline is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 468
Thanks for the reply and that is what I'm going to do once I determine this is bad. The FloJet that is on the unit has an on/off switch to it. Don't know if the previous owner ever messed with it. There were also two cut leads on the bottom that are different than the other main leads running to the switch. This may have been a fuse assembly at one time according to the parts breakout. I wonder where I could find a wiring diagram for this.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2012, 03:36 PM
RigglePLC's Avatar
RigglePLC RigglePLC is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 9,138
Yes, I think there is a switch on the back. Also the extra wire...I think it holds a fuse and connects to a pressure limit switch...possibly cuts it off if pressure exceeds 35,(Not likely).

I just read a review at the TSC site. He indicates satisfied, but mentioned that the clear gel cover over the switch degraded and let water enter--and it immediately failed...so...seal up the switch with silicone.

Last edited by RigglePLC; 02-21-2012 at 03:40 PM. Reason: add
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2012, 10:38 PM
RigglePLC's Avatar
RigglePLC RigglePLC is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 9,138
There are a lot of tank-making companies-you might be able to find one--but you need a fairly big hatch--an agricultural tank. Not cheap.

How do you intend to fix the tank? Small hole--big hole? Can you install a valve and just close or plug the valve? Get a plastic welder? I have had fairly good luck with silicone and with Gorilla Glue.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-22-2012, 07:04 AM
Hineline's Avatar
Hineline Hineline is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by RigglePLC View Post
Yes, I think there is a switch on the back. Also the extra wire...I think it holds a fuse and connects to a pressure limit switch...possibly cuts it off if pressure exceeds 35,(Not likely).

I just read a review at the TSC site. He indicates satisfied, but mentioned that the clear gel cover over the switch degraded and let water enter--and it immediately failed...so...seal up the switch with silicone.
The cover on this one was real cloudy so maybe that had something to do with it failing???

If I get the 2 gal pump, would that effect my flow or will it stay the same due to the fixed nozzle calibration?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-22-2012, 07:12 AM
Hineline's Avatar
Hineline Hineline is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by RigglePLC View Post
There are a lot of tank-making companies-you might be able to find one--but you need a fairly big hatch--an agricultural tank. Not cheap.

How do you intend to fix the tank? Small hole--big hole? Can you install a valve and just close or plug the valve? Get a plastic welder? I have had fairly good luck with silicone and with Gorilla Glue.
My plan to save the tank is to somehow seal the front holes. The holes are the old grommets for the tank mount bolts. The rear tank grommets look like they could use a little attention also. I could actually use the front mounts if I went with a system of rubber washers and mount the bolts and squeeze them closed and seal. I might try to find a chemical resistant and waterproof epoxy. I've used amazing goop before and that stuff is what it says it is. I might just squeeze that in there and be able to call it a day.

I'm hoping to be on the road with my first PG for a few bucks more than the cost of a new push and backpack.......going to 40 acres this year. I need it!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-22-2012, 03:24 PM
RigglePLC's Avatar
RigglePLC RigglePLC is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 9,138
I hope you can fix that tank. Myself I think I would build a bracket and pad it with soft rubber. And go over the top with nylon straps to hold it in place.
Somebody must make a square tank that would fit.

The pressure is fixed by the valve on the return line that releases excess pressure back into the tank. Fixed at about 10 pounds. However, I think a pressure gauge is a wise investment. How many gpm is the standard pump?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-23-2012, 03:18 PM
DA Quality Lawn & YS's Avatar
DA Quality Lawn & YS DA Quality Lawn & YS is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 7,774
1 gpm pump is all you need on a Centri. I am not certain if you put a larger pump on a Centri if it will give you any benefit or not. I know a Mag uses a 2 gpm pump.
__________________
7x14 Stealth SE Enclosed with 48" side ramp
08 Toro Z400 48" deck, 21HP Kaw with EZ Vac twin bag
09 Exmark Turf Tracer HP 36"
21" Toro SR4 Super Recycler
Stihl KM90 Kombi w/ straight shaft trimmer & tiller heads
Husqvarna 125B Blower
PG Magnum
Turfco XT5 Aerator
Turfco LS-22 Overseeder

I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.
Philippians 4:13
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-23-2012, 03:46 PM
Hineline's Avatar
Hineline Hineline is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by RigglePLC View Post
I hope you can fix that tank. Myself I think I would build a bracket and pad it with soft rubber. And go over the top with nylon straps to hold it in place.
Somebody must make a square tank that would fit.

The pressure is fixed by the valve on the return line that releases excess pressure back into the tank. Fixed at about 10 pounds. However, I think a pressure gauge is a wise investment. How many gpm is the standard pump?
I guess we have a plumbers putty at the shop that I'm told will seal the tank no problem and I'll do like you said and just strap er down. I did find some tanks online but I really think I can fix it for nothing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:18 PM.

Page generated in 0.07831 seconds with 7 queries