Register free!

Old 02-27-2012, 03:07 AM
LawnSite Member

New To Organic Fertilizing-Advice Needed

Hi Guys

am new to organic fertilizing and am a complete novice, but this subject interests me

I will be experimenting with one of my client's lawns this year (small garden with approx 120 square meter lawn) ... this lawn (and garden) was by far the nicest lawn in the area last year, however, I used chemical fertilizers and done 4 applications .... The last application was in early November with a winterizer fertilizer (low in N)

I intend to lay some crushed volcanic rock dust in a week or two, then follow up with a monthly application of compost tea which will be brewed using a combination of worm humus, bat guano, forest topsoil, sea kelp, humic acid, fish extract and a few extras

In mid October, I will be aerating, scarifying, and will overseed using a layer of topsoil mixed with compost

What product can be added to the compost tea which is organic, and which will give a very high N content to green the lawn for during the spring/summer? ....

the only products I have found so far that are organic is one type of bat Guano that has an NPK of 10-6-2 and dried bloodmeal that has an N of 14 percent

is there any other organic ingredient that I can add to the compost tea that will give a higher N content?
Old 02-27-2012, 10:08 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by *dim* View Post
Hi Guys...
...is there any other organic ingredient that I can add to the compost tea that will give a higher N content?
The purpose of so-called 'organic' lawn care, is to increase the health of the soil and therefore increase the availability of all nutrients.
A good question to ask yourself is "Can my grass eat all that npk now?"

Another good question to ask yourself:
"How long will 3% N last in the form of compost?" or,,, "... in the form of guano?"