Register free!

Old 03-28-2012, 12:24 AM
LawnSite Member

Crabgrass preventer vs mow lawn

Hi all,

Newbie here, I am from NY and there is a new laws that i can't spread crabgrass preventer until April 1st. After i spread crabgrass preventer (scott step #1) how long do i have to wait until i mow my lawn?

Also scott step #1 any good for crabgrass preventer?

Thanks,

Tom
Old 03-28-2012, 12:55 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

Well, you could mow your lawn and spread right after you mow.

But if you really have to throw fert/pre down b/f you mow, go for it you won't cause any issues.
09 Exmark Turf Tracer HP 36"
21" Toro SR4 Super Recycler
Stihl KM90 Kombi w/ straight shaft trimmer & tiller heads
2 Husqvarna 125B Blowers
Turfco XT5 Aerator
Turfco LS-22 Overseeder
EcoLawn 200 Applicator

I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.
Philippians 4:13
Old 03-28-2012, 01:24 AM
LawnSite Silver Member

The Scotts Halts is basic Pre M it works very very good but usually wears off by late July on its prevention. If Scotts is a must re apply the same one in 6 weeks and youll be good.
Old 03-28-2012, 07:37 AM
LawnSite Silver Member

The law does NOT restrict the use of the pre-emergent, it restricts the application of fertilizer from April 1 to December 1. It also restricts the use of P without a soil test.
Old 03-28-2012, 08:55 AM
LawnSite Member

@turf hokie; so i can spread it now? using Scott step #1? the local store manager said i have to wait after April 1st. He said the law effect because the government don't want the snow and the seeds melting together and could cause poison in the water...something like that

If i spread it now. How long do i have to wait to mow the lawn? 1 week or 2 weeks?.

Thanks
Old 03-28-2012, 10:45 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

If people actually understood proper cultural practices, the difference between NPK and root inhibitor, professional and lawnboy, these type of problems wouldn't be 'solved' by the gov't!?!?!!