Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 04-04-2012, 04:46 PM
LawnSite Member

how long did it take you to net $50, $75, $100,000? How did you do it?

I am a college student at Virginia tech and have had a small landscaping business for two years now. I am doing an internship this summer through a big company and may even work for them after i graduate. Or i may go back to my business. I have had the opportunity to grow my company but haven't because of being in school and stuff.
I Know this will very but i am wondering.
How long did it take you to grow your company?
A brief description on what you have done and how long did it take to net 50. 75, and $100,000.
How much money would it be worth it to you to make coming out of college rather than have taking the chance and investing in starting a business?
Any other advise for me?
Old 04-05-2012, 01:17 AM
LawnSite Silver Member

You're gonna get answers all over the board on this. It all depends on what kind of services you offer and the pricing you can get in your market. The market I work in, I would barely get by on 50k, other markets 50k a year is considered upper middle class.
Old 04-05-2012, 09:44 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Net $50-100K. I only see that being likely with several employees and a smooth running operation. I crunch the numbers all the time and in my area as a solo working about as much as weahter permits and having plenty of work charging what this market is going for I find it possible to gross around $32,500. Take a good $10K for expenses so thats only $20Kish. This industry sucks. I like what I do but the money is terrible. I'm thinking about getting ready to become a truck driver in the next year or so.
Old 04-05-2012, 09:52 AM
LawnSite Gold Member