Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 04-05-2012, 11:07 AM
LawnSite Member

walk behind opinions

I am a small part time operator, I run a 61" Grasshopper as my only mower. I do have some small areas, and areas with flower beds or gated parts of the lawn, that I end up using a pushmower or weedeater. Thinking about a walk behind mower. I didnt realize they are faily inexpensive as far as mowers go.

My questions are

What are they good for? Besides small areas.
Hills/steep slopes?
What about those ride on deals?
I do know there is hydro and belt driven. Is that the deck or the wheels?
What kind of price am I looking at.
Im not opposed to a used mower. I might use it 2 hours a month. Unless it is something I get used to or something.
Old 04-05-2012, 03:09 PM
LawnSite Member

I was in a similar situation. .well they are obviously lighter, so less turfing. They can get into places that ztr's cant. Belts can slip when they get wet, that's why lots of ppl have hydros. But those are about double the cost. Price, it really depends on deck / motor / drive configuration. 1000 for used - 5000 for lightly used hydro
Old 04-05-2012, 03:51 PM
LawnSite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by javelin377 View Post
I am a small part time operator, I run a 61" Grasshopper as my only mower. I do have some small areas, and areas with flower beds or gated parts of the lawn, that I end up using a pushmower or weedeater. Thinking about a walk behind mower. I didnt realize they are faily inexpensive as far as mowers go.

My questions are

What are they good for? Besides small areas.
Hills/steep slopes?
What about those ride on deals?
I do know there is hydro and belt driven. Is that the deck or the wheels?
What kind of price am I looking at.
Im not opposed to a used mower. I might use it 2 hours a month. Unless it is something I get used to or something.

Javelin,