Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 04-06-2012, 10:18 AM
LawnSite Member

Tax Advantages/Disadvantages of DBA

Hey guys, I'm currently a DBA thinking about going LLC, I did a little research, but found conflicting accounts (from CPAs and internet) on taxes on a DBA, I heard that you can write off everything just as if you were an LLC, and also heard that with a full-time job you can't write off any business expenses if its a part-time lawn business, which it is.

Anyone else have a full-time job and run their business on the side? What tax write offs are there? Does it work out in your favor?
Old 04-06-2012, 10:58 AM
LawnSite Member

DBA vs LLC

I'm just a contractor, not an accountant, but to my business the chief advantage to an LLC is liability protection. DBA simply means your business is not operating with your name on the title and you're a single proprietorship. As a single proprietor if your business is sued you stand the chance to lose not only it's assets but your own personal assets. In an LLC if you're sued you can only lose your business assets, your home is not on the auction block.

As far as taxes go, as I understand it and have been paying taxes, the IRS makes no distinction between income from a single prop. or an LLC and neither does my state (Oregon). It's all the same pot. I don't see any different tax advantages. The liability protection though makes it priceless.

Bear in mind that LLC formation is governed by state regulations and not federal so your particular state might have have different state tax rules.
Old 04-06-2012, 11:21 AM
LawnSite Silver Member

In this instance, you are referring to your personal name "Doing business as" for your sole proprietorship business. To clarify, any entity can have/be a DBA.