Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 04-15-2012, 10:56 PM
LawnSite Member

First Spring with new lawn

Hey all,

This is my first spring at our new house. The lawn is needs some work (pics at end of thread).

I've been doing research and it seems Lesco is the route to go. I was hoping you could recommend an application schedule and what lesco products to use. I'm in the Philly region.

I will be going to my local extension office this week for a soil test but was hoping to get started in the mean time. I need a spreader and was consider these two:

http://www.amazon.com/Earthway-C22HD...4456841&sr=8-8

http://www.amazon.com/Earthway-2150-...4456841&sr=8-4

Thoughts on those or other recommendations?

Im a beginner when it comes to lawn care but want to get it right so I can have a nice lawn. I have 3/4 acre of lawn and these pictures are good representatives of the condition of the entire lawn. Weed be gone liquid spray was applied 2 days ago to the front lawn.

Pictures:

What do you think? What Lesco products can i get started with and what kind of schedule should i follow?

Thanks in advance!
Old 04-15-2012, 11:46 PM
LawnSite Member

I live no more than probably 45 minutes from you, so we are in the same region and climate. We also have the same grasses. I cant see for sure in your pictures, but it looks like you may have a thatch problem. If there is about 1/2 of an inch or more of thatch then it needs dethatching.