Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 04-17-2012, 10:30 AM
LawnSite Member

Help with my personal lawn

I'm going to be getting into lawn care business and want to first try my hand at fixing up my lawn first. I have a plan and want to see what everyone thinks of it, any advice is welcome. A little info on the yard, its 16,000 ft^2 and doesn't seem to be doing all that good; I've checked and the PH its something like 5-5.5. I see almost no insects or worms in the soil anywhere. You can tell that's its more sandy and compacted than it should be. Grass doesn't grow fast or at all really other than a few clumps here and there. I'm new to everything here so I just wanted to go over my strategy for my yard this year. Its been neglected for too many years to count so I know its going to take some time to get it back. The yard is almost 50/50 moss and grass, its really sad.

My plan is to spread 40lbs of lime per 1,000 ft^2 (I believe 50lbs is max you normally want to do at one time), I would then aerate and top dress the lawn with compost at a 1/4 inch layer. After that I plan to use an organic fertilizer 5 times during the year to keep the grass green and growing. Depending on how everything looks I'd lay down another load of compost again during fall. With all this I plan to re-mulch everything as well as edge and trim but those are standard along with regular mowing.

If you have anything to add please let me know as I'm new to this and want to make sure I'm going about this all correctly.
Old 04-17-2012, 11:13 PM
LawnSite Member