Register free!

Old 04-22-2012, 06:17 PM
LawnSite Member

Do I need to dethatch or aerate?

My wife and I bought a new house last September so this spring I'm working on renovating the lawn. Attached are some pictures of a few random spots in my back yard that are pretty heavy in dead/brown grass. My question is, do I need to dethatch my lawn? Or do I need to aerate it? I've read in a few different places that dethatching isn't neccessary aerating will help with thatch. With that, I've read that people wait until fall to aerate and seed, but being the impatient person I am, I'd rather get the problem taken care of early so allow the yard to grow. With that said, I'm very new to lawn care so I'm not sure if that is a good way to think, and if that is the correct process. Can somebody help me and give me some suggestions on how to fix this problem?

I've read that having a heavy thatch problem leads to fungus growth, and I noticed I had mushrooms growing in multiple places last fall. I'm also assuming/wondering if a lot of my grass is brown/dead because I'm not getting proper oxygen and water to my lawn from a thick layer of thatch? I've already applied Fertilizer with Dimension, which was about a month ago so I'm not sure I need to do that. I'd greatly appreciate any help!
Attached Images

Old 04-22-2012, 06:21 PM
LawnSite Member

One other thing I'll add too. Can anybody tell me the name of the grass that's in the picture on the very bottom? I'm trying to figure out how to get rid of that so I can have actual grass in my lawn instead of this ugly stuff. Thanks!
Old 04-22-2012, 10:09 PM
LawnSite Fanatic