Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-04-2012, 08:36 AM
noone noone is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 25
How to string an Echo trimmer so it doesn't get stuck.

This string trimmer head has been kind of frustrating for me. It's this one, the "Pro-Torque Trimmer Attachment" http://www.echo-usa.com/Products/Pro...es/99944200545 I guess i'm not 'pro' enough to use this.

It's really only fed correctly when it was on the first factory spool of string. I have never been able to string it correctly since. I take a 20ft piece of string, pull it through the hole so it's halved, then wind it in the direction of the arrows, trying to keep the two parts as separated as possible. No matter what happens, the thing gets stuck inside at some point multiple times throughout the spool. Sometimes it feeds, sometimes it doesn't. Pretty frustrated. I did notice that the Echo factory used two strings, rather than one to string it. I don't know if that matters.

I spent a lot of money on my PAS-266 and head attachments.

Thanks for any advice you can offer on this seemingly trivial matter.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-04-2012, 09:11 AM
dieseltech's Avatar
dieseltech dieseltech is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: decatur il
Posts: 652
I have the same heads and have never had any trouble with them. Pull through, wind in pointed directions and thats it. Maybe try using less string?
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-04-2012, 09:16 AM
noone noone is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 25
Do you try to keep the two sides separated with your thumb? Maybe me trying to do this is throwing mine off and I should just not worry about keeping it separated and just wind it.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2012, 09:26 AM
jsslawncare's Avatar
jsslawncare jsslawncare is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 1,644
Switch to the Echo U-turn heads (maybe called rapid load now). And you'll never have a problem.
__________________
All equipment is wore out. <- Never mind. All equipment has been repainted and with new decals. It's like I have new mower's again!
48" Ferris WB
36" Ferris WB
All Echo hand helds
<- That's how I feel at the end of the day.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-04-2012, 09:31 AM
Valk's Avatar
Valk Valk is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Eastern KS
Posts: 2,709
Sometimes those star shaped trimmer lines will weld themselves together in there. I'm not a proponent of square line (fungo bat for shooting/launching debris, imho), but it or round line may provide a some better luck.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
~ cut it high ~ let it fly ~
---------------------------------------------------
Some folks are so contrary that if they fell into a river,
they'd insist on floating upstream.
~ Josh Billings
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-04-2012, 09:39 AM
noone noone is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 25
I think I am using that star shaped Echo branded line which I **assumed** would be perfect....
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-04-2012, 09:57 AM
TriCountyLawn's Avatar
TriCountyLawn TriCountyLawn is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 1,518
Don't cross the strings, as said keep them separate with your thumb as you wrap it. They should make it with a divider in it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-04-2012, 12:07 PM
noone noone is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 25
It's hard if not impossible to keep the two sides of the string separate while winding it, because the loophole pushes the string into the center. Oh well. Maybe I'll get better at it the more I practice. I just figured stepping up to this "pro" unit would be nicer than the Homelite I used to have. Guess not.

Sigh.....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-04-2012, 04:27 PM
TriCountyLawn's Avatar
TriCountyLawn TriCountyLawn is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 1,518
There is other types of designs that are more idiot proof that will fit your echo trimmer also. I seen a pretty slick shinindawa one once. Echo makes several models of trimmer head also I believe. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-04-2012, 04:35 PM
macgyver_GA macgyver_GA is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canton, GA
Posts: 813
Get a speedfeed head.

I just put one on my kawasaki trimmer yesterday. It's awesome!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:48 AM.

Page generated in 0.08113 seconds with 7 queries