Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 05-16-2012, 02:16 AM
LawnSite Member

Profit Amount?

This is my first year maintaining lawns professionally and I know I've bid several of the properties too low. However, after running my numbers I found that I'm still well in the black, but making a profit of only around $8 per hour. My question is how much profit do you veterans generally accrue per hour?
Honda push
Tanaka trimmer
Tanaka edger
Echo backpack blower

www.firebrigadelawncare.com
Old 05-16-2012, 02:23 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firebrigade View Post
This is my first year maintaining lawns professionally and I know I've bid several of the properties too low. However, after running my numbers I found that I'm still well in the black, but making a profit of only around $8 per hour. My question is how much profit do you veterans generally accrue per hour?
What are you including and excluding in the profit?

10% is a very good profit provided you are including fair wages, including for yourself, overhead and equipment plus interest and inflation in your cost. If you are including all those things ( all cost) , 5% is a fair profit in this economy.
Old 05-16-2012, 02:45 AM
LawnSite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duekster View Post
What are you including and excluding in the profit?

10% is a very good profit provided you are including fair wages, including for yourself, overhead and equipment plus interest and inflation in your cost. If you are including all those things ( all cost) , 5% is a fair profit in this economy.
I couldn't tell you the percentage off hand, but my situation is somewhat unique in that I haven't started to "pay" myself yet. My main profession is being a firefighter, so thus far all the money I make mowing that's not an expense has been reinvested into the business in the form of savings. Basically if I did pay myself I'd be making roughly $8 per hour. This amount is well below what I'm after.