Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 05-24-2012, 12:25 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

What to do?

Well I was mowing one of my commercial account today and realized they had someone mulch all there pine trees. There is probably like 100 trees total with the rings a good 5ft across. I estimated that it would probably take 20-25 yards of mulch to do all these trees. Here is my question. I have been servicing this account since 2007 and they have been loyal to me. I do 5 treatments, 2 shrub trimmings mowing and all there snow removal in the winter. Well this spring when it was time to redo the contract for another couple years they tell me that the budget is tight and we need to cut back some. So they cut out all but two treatments and have me mowing this one area once a month. I was cool with that because I figure they have been loyal and been a great customer through the years. So here is my question and maybe you guys ave some experience with situations like this. It really bothered me that they did not call and ask if I was interested in this job. I mean me personally if I would have cut the lawn guy back on income if I found some extra money or needed something done I would call him to see if he was interested in doing the work and at the very least get a bid from him. I was thinking about calling and telling them any other work they would like done that I would like the chance to bid on. I know in the past they have used another landscape install company to do various projects like plant all those trees. Maybe I should just let it go but for some reason it bothers me because if you do not have the money to pay me to mow the entire property every week how do you have the money to mulch all those trees. The going rate for installing mulch around me is $65-75 a yard so that figures to be somewhere in the neighborhood of $1500. That would almost pay for the entire season of mowing the area I am doing once a month this season. They have not mulched th