Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 06-01-2012, 08:23 AM
LawnSite Member

Low vibration trimmer options (Joint pains in hand)

I've been mowing for 7 years and mostly trim full time with a Sthil FS250. It never used to bother me but I have started to get arthritic type joint pains across my entire trigger hand and as of lately experience numbness in my pinky finger.

The next day I'll wake up and my joints will be so swollen my fingers will open half way and lock/pop until I massage them. Never had any problem the first 5 years of my job but once I hit 30 it seems the little things are catching up with me.

I've started using the included shoulder strap to reduce weight on the trigger hand as well as Mechanix gloves but it's getting to the point I can't go on and cripple myself. I'm seeking suggestions for low vibe trimmers or different trigger mounts so I can continue on with my job.
Old 06-01-2012, 09:16 AM
LawnSite Member

You sure it's from vibration? Or just constantly putting your hand in the same position?
Old 06-01-2012, 10:57 PM
LawnSite Member

I was having troubles with vibration related numbness when using my trimmer for long periods of time. some things that helped are using the shoulder strap, impacto anti vibe handle wrap

http://www.impacto.ca/catalog.php?category=12

oregon supertwist platinum gatorline (it vibrates a lot less than other lines).
Old 06-01-2012, 11:07 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

I tell you what, of all the equipment I use, that danged string trimmer causes the most damage. I have suffered from deQuervains tendonitis (thumb tendon) each offseason, painful as heck. Its due to using the ol trimmer.
21" Toro SR4 Super Recycler
Stihl KM90 Kombi w/ straight shaft trimmer & tiller heads
Husqvarna 125B Blower
PG Magnum
Turfco XT5 Aerator
Turfco LS-22 Overseeder

I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.
Philippians 4:13
Old 06-02-2012, 01:06 AM
LawnSite Senior Member