Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 06-05-2012, 12:36 AM
LawnSite Member

Leaking Rain bird DVF's

I am new here, but have enjoyed reading many of the threads. I have had some trouble with Rain bird DVF's this past winter. I install 20-35 new systems a year in addition to servicing 300 systems/ yr. This past winter from Oct-March we installed roughly 80 zones on new systems. all 1" DVF's. My service tech's have had to replace over 30 of those valves. I am around 40-50 man hours, fuel and slip fixes, a dead specimen tree and other misc parts into at this point. I have been using DVF's on my residential systems for the last 6 years. I have found them to be inexpensive yet very reliable. when we started up our systems this year we found 6 the first week, I though ok no big deal let's just get the valves warrantied. By the time we finished our start-ups of newly installed systems we were pushing 25. Over the last few weeks I have had some unhappy customers calling with flooded yards. The valves all split on the inlet side of the valve, in the same place. We turned in the valves to our supplier and got in touch with the rain bird rep. rain bird came back and said it was because we used teflon paste and teflon tape instead using of just teflon tape. the problem is we have used both tape and paste for years on these valves without ever having a problem. We also found a valve installed by another company split in the exact same place with no teflon paste. My supplier has warrantied the valves and offered a free case of valves for the trouble, although I have been very unimpressed with rain bird's follow through on this one they have yet to step up to the plate and take any sort of responsibility. Has anyone else had trouble with DVF's recently? or ever heard of teflon paste reacting with the plastic causing valves to split (rain bird's story). Not trying to complain just trying to figure out if the problem is just with us.
Old 06-05-2012, 01:03 AM