Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 06-06-2012, 01:25 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Just Joined- Need advice on Commercial 21s

Well after a few years of lurking on this forum I have decided to join. I am just starting out, so I apologize if I sound like I do not know much, because I do not.

Most of the laws I take care of are rather small and many of them have fences, so I need a good 21 inch mower. So far I have narrowed my choices down to two choices- the Honda HRC216HXA and the Exmark Commercial 21 X-Series. I do have a few questions regarding these two mowers.

1. The Honda HRC seems to have a great reputation because it is a well-established mower, while the Exmark is a newer mower and not as many people have used them. Would anyone who has owned any of the X or even S series models give me their opinion of them? I only talked to one owner, and he absolutely loves his. I was wondering if anyone else loves their mower just as much.

2. How is the overall mulching and bagging performance of these two mowers? I tend to bag most of the lawns I take care of, but good mulching performance would be something I would like to see as well.

3. What do most people think is the better engine, the Kawasaki Kai or the Honda GXV? I do like the fact the Kai has an oil filter (Note this is if I decide on the Exmark, I know the Honda only GXV)

Thank you for your time and any opinions would be much appreciated.
Old 06-06-2012, 02:12 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

We have two crews, each runs 2 of the exmarks. My guys love them and switched from Honda to exmark for their personal mowers. Here in the NW the ability to bag wet grass and leaves is key. The mower does that very well. A lot of the larger LCO's here have switched to them.

Hope that helps!
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 06-06-2012, 05:06 AM
LawnSite Senior Member