Register free!


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2012, 05:11 PM
nayr nayr is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alma MO
Posts: 21
Sq D pressure switch clicking on and off repeatedly

We have finally decided to bring a drilled well back in to operation. (Or so we thought) A little history on this set up. About 15-20 years ago this well was a "hub" for 3 rural houses. When we bought the place 5 years ago the system was not in operation. We decided at the time to not spend the money on updating it and just hooked or new house up to the rural water service. Fast forward 5 years and our house is done and now we are wanting to use this deep well to water our lawn. The day the well repairmen were there they took out 280 ft of sectioned line that had a 2 hp pump on the end of it. He explained to me that it would be best to put a new 1 hp pump (10 gpm) that would lift 300 feet. So we decided that's what we would do. The well is approx 460 deep and the water level is 128 ft from the surface. So after they put the new 300ft roll of black coil pipe down it I figure I have 172 feet of water from my pump to the water level. Finally it all gets hooked up and sure enough I have water. So I flushed the lines per his instruction and then hooked up one normal lawn sprinkler. Everything was going good with the sprinkler shooting about 20' side to side until I noticed the sprinkler only shooting water about 3 feet from the base (not enough pressure I presume to make it go back and forth). I went over to the spigot and turned it off and waited about 20 seconds and turned it back on. It started spraying like normal but then went back to the weak stream. When I turned it back on the pressure switch was clicking "on and off" probably 7-10 times. Is this normal? I checked the pressure in the tank with an air gauge and it had about 40psi. Also I did a bucket test and I had about 14.6 gpm. Can someone point me in the right direction for a possible problem. Conveniently my well man left today for 10 day cruise but would like to figure this out.

Any help or advice is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2012, 05:25 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 7,035
Are you cycling or is the switch breaking contact?
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2012, 05:56 PM
nayr nayr is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alma MO
Posts: 21
1idejim: Please excuse me in advance for my ignorance but not sure exactly what you mean by me cycling it or breaking contact. All I did was turn the spigot handle off when I noticed the low pressure. Then out of curiousity I waited for less than a minute and turned the spigot back on and the sprinkler operated like normal for less than a minute then went back to the weak problem. When I turned the spigot handle on is when I heard the "clicking" sounds numerous times in sequence from the pressure switch. At that point I grabbed a air pressure gauge and checked the tank and it had about 40psi.

Thanks for your patience and helping me
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2012, 06:16 PM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,614
maybe you have a low-producing well, and the water level is dropping to the pump
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2012, 06:24 PM
nayr nayr is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alma MO
Posts: 21
W B - Sure hope thats not the case otherwise I just crapped alot of money for nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2012, 06:30 PM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,614
nothing you posted indicates anyone has the slightest idea of the well's true production capacity
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-20-2012, 06:32 PM
jvanvliet's Avatar
jvanvliet jvanvliet is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 3,935
Loose connection can cause the switch to cycle.
__________________
.
.

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it"
.
.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-20-2012, 06:54 PM
Sprinkus's Avatar
Sprinkus Sprinkus is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,847
If it's rapidly turning on and off look here for info on correct installation of pressure switches to see if there may be an install issue.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-20-2012, 07:23 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 7,035
you need to do a 2 hr pumpdown test to get working data.
in your opening statement you said the pump man sold you on a 1hp 10 gpm pump yet you were measuring 14.6 gpm.
do the pumpdown test, get the pump specs and bring the numbers back. best of luck
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-20-2012, 10:13 PM
Mike Leary's Avatar
Mike Leary Mike Leary is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cactus Hug, Arizona
Posts: 20,574
Not knowing how long the OP ran the "sprinkler", I'm dubious of the well and the pump guy. Until I got on this forum, I assumed every well was given a pump-down test to see the recharge rate, which we sprinkler guys live and die by.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:26 AM.

Page generated in 0.07960 seconds with 7 queries