Register free!


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2012, 07:42 PM
whiffyspark whiffyspark is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Chesapeake beach
Posts: 5,520
Quick question. Drawing included

I'm looking to see if I can find a central hub port that would allow me to run two wires back to the transformer. I am putting 10 lights on each side of the driveway and 10 across the front of the house. I was hoping to find a "junction box" to tie the 10 on each side into two wires.

I understand acceptable wiring methods:hubs, t type, not so much daisy chaining etc. But i'm really just looking for a more professional solution.

My Vista Rep said Unique had one item similar to what I'm looking for, any help guys? I included a drawing.. Red dots are lights yellow is the transformer. Anyway I do this it's a lot of work

Thanks!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2012, 07:45 PM
whiffyspark whiffyspark is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Chesapeake beach
Posts: 5,520
http://www.uniquelighting.com/produc...ellite_hub.htm

That is the closet i've found to what i'm looking for
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2012, 09:01 PM
Lite4's Avatar
Lite4 Lite4 is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 3,024
are you planning on using LED's? what guage of wire are you running? 10g or 8g? 20 lights for 2 wires is not going to be good for this application unless you are going LED or if you are running an 8 to a central point then splitting off equal lenghts of 12/2 to 2 or 3 hubs on each side and basically distributing the power.
__________________


Tim Ryan
Lite4 Outdoor Lighting
www.lite-4.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2012, 09:22 PM
Classic Lighting's Avatar
Classic Lighting Classic Lighting is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiffyspark View Post
I'm looking to see if I can find a central hub port that would allow me to run two wires back to the transformer. I am putting 10 lights on each side of the driveway and 10 across the front of the house. I was hoping to find a "junction box" to tie the 10 on each side into two wires.
According to your post, I'd guess that you are describing halogen along the driveway. I'd highly recommend LED. Minimal wire material would be required.
The hub box is no different than a irrigation valve box. Many companies make these boxes and they all do the same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2012, 10:44 PM
whiffyspark whiffyspark is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Chesapeake beach
Posts: 5,520
I'm using LED. 3003 for the trees 3006 for the home.

Would I be able to tie the lights into one strand on each side?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2012, 10:58 PM
Classic Lighting's Avatar
Classic Lighting Classic Lighting is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 370
Yes, one line daisey-chained on each side of the drive. Is there a sleeve in place to reach the right side of the drive?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-20-2012, 11:42 PM
whiffyspark whiffyspark is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Chesapeake beach
Posts: 5,520
No, I'm going to have to sleeve under the driveway, than under the sidewalk twice.

Daisy chain'd is acceptable?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-21-2012, 12:13 AM
Classic Lighting's Avatar
Classic Lighting Classic Lighting is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiffyspark View Post
No, I'm going to have to sleeve under the driveway, than under the sidewalk twice.

Daisy chain'd is acceptable?
Yes, very acceptable with LED.

Here's a great tool to figure voltage drop with LED. I'd recommend using it until you get comfortable.
http://www.cast-lighting.com/learnin...or-daisy-chain
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-21-2012, 08:25 PM
Alan B Alan B is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: tampa, fl
Posts: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiffyspark View Post
I'm looking to see if I can find a central hub port that would allow me to run two wires back to the transformer.

Thanks!
If you need a hub we carry these:
http://www.landscapelightingworld.co...hts-p/9hub.htm


However if you are doing LED it maybe easier to daisy chain. VOLT fixtures come with 25' lead wire so hubs are very fast to install (just one connection for each zone), but if you use another manu with short lead wire I would daisy chain.
__________________
Alan
President/CEO
VOLTģ Lighting
(813) 978-3700
alanb@voltlighting.com
www.voltlighting.com


Factory Direct Outdoor Lighting
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-21-2012, 08:32 PM
whiffyspark whiffyspark is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Chesapeake beach
Posts: 5,520
I am using vista LEDs.

I saw those, similar to the Spyder system from cast. But that still doesn't help me.

I guess what I'm looking for doesn't exist. I was picking something like a distribution block for the car audio world. To me that would help with equal voltage being led or halogen
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:30 AM.

Page generated in 0.07113 seconds with 7 queries