Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2012, 07:01 PM
scag43 scag43 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 32
scag turf tiger with a Kohler command 22ch Help Please

Hi there, this mower had a Kohler command 22hp STT22 (blew that engine), my mechanic install Kohler command 25 hp stt25, both engine has the same amp (15amp) and they look identical except for the oil cooling device on the 25hp and the stickers, the mower is a beast now very happy, but when I engage the pto, it takes about 5 to 10 seconds to engage and amp meter drops, with the 22hp the pto engage right away and amps will go to 15. any idea as what could be wrong, my mechanic said pto is going bad, but I never had that problem before, could this be relate to a wrong voltage to activate the pto...I will really appreciate any help...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2012, 07:10 PM
piston slapper's Avatar
piston slapper piston slapper is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa Fl
Posts: 4,008
Loose connection...check for bad fuse holders....
Ensure that the clutch pigtail is properly plugged in..

Other than the pistons..heads..and carb...you basically have the same engine..
If it worked before...it should work now...
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2012, 07:14 PM
Patriot Services's Avatar
Patriot Services Patriot Services is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 8,359
Look for a pinched or nicked wire. Common occurence when your trying drop in an engine and keep everything clear. Wires get pulled loose when seperating weatherpak connections. Doubtful the PTO is failing like that.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2012, 07:21 PM
piston slapper's Avatar
piston slapper piston slapper is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa Fl
Posts: 4,008
I agree Patriot...
If the clutch pulls more than 5 amps on startup...it'll blow the fuse...if not it will definitely melt the wiring...
As a rule of thumb..if the clutch pulls more than 2 amps when running...its on its way out...windings are melted...
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-21-2012, 07:07 PM
scag43 scag43 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 32
This morning the Battery was completely dead and the starter was only clicking when I turn the ignition switch,( that never happen before ) , I had to go back home and charge the battery, I also found a lose wire, it is color blue and it goes on the starter solenoid..I did charge the battery, fix the wire and mower start right away, when I got home on the afternoon I check battery voltage and it was at 12v. The amp meter still drops to 5 when I engage the blades ( it was used like that all day yesterday and today ) ...fuse holders are brand new, you guys help on my previous post on how to replace them and what type of wire….thank you

How can I test the Battery charging system on this motor to see if is working properly?

Also the amp meter gauge it is not the original for this motor, maybe that is why is dropping to 5 amps...I don't know just guessing...
Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2012, 07:44 PM
piston slapper's Avatar
piston slapper piston slapper is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa Fl
Posts: 4,008
Attach a volt meter to the battery...
Check the voltage....crank the engine...
With the engine running...check to see if the voltage increases or drops...
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-21-2012, 08:41 PM
scag43 scag43 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 32
I just check battery voltage, engine off, battery 12.9v, engine running full throttle 12.7v. , looks like is not charging, where do I go from here? Thanks...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-21-2012, 08:50 PM
piston slapper's Avatar
piston slapper piston slapper is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa Fl
Posts: 4,008
There is a flat connector with 3 wires in it that plugs into the regulator..
It should be on the cowl...oil filter side...
Make sure it is plugged in ....and that there is a ground wire installed between the regulator and a good ground....usually a cowl bolt...
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-21-2012, 09:46 PM
scag43 scag43 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 32
It is night time here in Florida, will check tomorrow, if it check ok, what else should i check, I don't know how check the middle wire on the regulator, I know how to check the 2 wires from stator, is there anything else I should check if everything test ok, thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-24-2012, 03:58 PM
scag43 scag43 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 32
Found the problem, like always Thank you guys... it was the flat connector with 3 wires in it that plugs into the regulator, the plug was connected but it was the wrong way, one of the corner wires wore out, now it will go 10+ on amp meter, battery voltage is 14.3 running and 13.2v not running and the blades will engage right way …..Thank you very much...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.com™ - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:03 AM.

Page generated in 0.08473 seconds with 7 queries