Register free!


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2012, 08:50 AM
LwnmwrMan22 LwnmwrMan22 is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,377
Hunter ACC, no time displayed when trying to.program station run times

At the local school district, they are running a Hunter ACC.

Coaches and other keep hitting the breaker to turn off the system if the irrigation is running on their field
The other nght they were apparently still trying to play baseball at 11 pm, as that is the natural grass field.with lights (football field is turf).

Now the controller isn't working, water has been off to the entire complex for over a week (custodians gone over the 4th) and I was called in to get the system running.

When trying to change the station run times, there is no time listed, only the flashing cursor. I can move the cursor around the screen, but I cannot get a time to appear in the hour, minute or second slot when I try to program a number.

I also cannot get the system to manually operate, either a program or a single station.

I set it up to run manually, to the controller to run, and ..........

Any suggestions?
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-12-2012, 09:27 AM
LwnmwrMan22 LwnmwrMan22 is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,377
And yes, I am a noob at the larger commercial type systems. We have maintained the turf at the schools for 10 years.

Their previous irrigation company takes 3 weeks to make a service call.

We are trying to learn on the fly, which can be dangerous, I know.

I have narrowed it down to a decoder issue. The "module/line activity" is solid red, there is no green at all under "line status".
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-12-2012, 09:34 AM
jbell36 jbell36 is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: KANSAS
Posts: 1,226
isn't there a reset button on the back of the face plate?

also, make sure you are on the "program" you need to be on...not to insult your intelligence but this can be looked past...those acc controllers have ABCD for programs, i would assume you need program A...you have probably done this and all, i just wanna make sure, it does happen...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-12-2012, 10:14 AM
LwnmwrMan22 LwnmwrMan22 is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,377
I did go through the programs.

I did not hit reset, as I didn't want to reprogram this clock again.

Also, about the decoder. If I hit reset, will that reset the decoder.
__________________
Give thanks, for all that He has given.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-12-2012, 10:20 AM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,618
You might have a damaged decoder.

The first thing you should do, is make a hard copy of the existing program(s).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-12-2012, 10:34 AM
LwnmwrMan22 LwnmwrMan22 is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wet_Boots View Post
You might have a damaged decoder.

The first thing you should do, is make a hard copy of the existing program(s).
I've got a hard copy of the existing programs, zones and run times, both regulars and SSGs.

I've been trying to locate info online for the decoder, but it seems as though it's something that Hunter doesn't have alot of info for.

It's a good day to do this, I'm waiting for a new door to be delivered for the cab of my Kubota M6040 that I broke the other day.

I can sit on the computer and not feel like I'm wasting a day away.

I did find where I should be able to do an "easy retrieve" on the controller. I talked with my good friend I've been learning irrigation under and he's leaning towards doing a reset, especially when it comes to the fact that the controller isn't working when trying to do a program of the station run time.

My concern is that the decoder is the part that is messing up the controller. Get the decoder working and the controller might work, or is it the other way around?
__________________
Give thanks, for all that He has given.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-12-2012, 11:38 AM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,618
You might also look into finding another way for the idiots out there to interrupt watering, other than a circuit breaker.

Diagnosing faulty decoders requires a super-sensitive clamp-around ammeter, often called a "leakage meter"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-12-2012, 01:08 PM
jbell36 jbell36 is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: KANSAS
Posts: 1,226
Good thing you didn't hit reset just yet...I though we were talking about the Icc, not Acc...you guys started talking about decoders then I realized this is a 2 wire system...this one is over my head, as a last resort I would try the reset
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-12-2012, 01:17 PM
LwnmwrMan22 LwnmwrMan22 is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wet_Boots View Post
You might also look into finding another way for the idiots out there to interrupt watering, other than a circuit breaker.

Diagnosing faulty decoders requires a super-sensitive clamp-around ammeter, often called a "leakage meter"
Yes, the school has already changed the locks on the breaker as well as the gate where the controller is.

There have been times when people have turned the controller off, times when they have gone and turned the water off at the well (inside the same gated area as the controller) and now where they have hit the breaker for the well itself.
__________________
Give thanks, for all that He has given.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-12-2012, 07:35 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 7,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wet_Boots View Post
You might also look into finding another way for the idiots out there to interrupt watering, other than a circuit breaker.

Diagnosing faulty decoders requires a super-sensitive clamp-around ammeter, often called a "leakage meter"
http://www.hunterindustries.com/product/controllers/acc

http://armadatech.com/all-products

http://www.greenlee.com/products/TES...LIBRATED).html

http://www.lawnsite.com/attachment.p...9&d=1332598625

get a LCM and read the manual (troubleshooting decoders) and you are on your way. first time won't be fun but you'll learn alot.

equally important is to read this thread http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.p...55#post4359555 hunter tek geek is the greatest example of a REP, educator and fellow technician
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:41 PM.

Page generated in 0.07213 seconds with 7 queries