Register free!


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-13-2012, 04:52 PM
LwnmwrMan22 LwnmwrMan22 is online now
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,377
Well...... here's what we found out. Some will laugh, others will cry.

I was on the phone with Hunter tech support, butting up to their time to quit, 4 pm pac. time.

They had me hit the reset on the face of the controller, nothing.

They had me pull the fuse, then pull the decoder module. Didn't smell burned, contacts all looked new.

I went to put the fuse back in, nothing. No power, nothing.

I only have keys to the irrigation controls, no keys for buildings, etc.

Went back over this morning, no power to the controller, showed the head custodian. We reset the breaker that whomever kicked off last week, still no power.

Traced power lines to an electrical panel near the clock, the irrigation controller is plugged into a GFI outlet. Reset the outlet, plugged the controller in, controller works.

I have a green light for line activity, and so far everything is working.

I have it set to run through all of the zones and will go back and check it tomorrow morning, make sure everything checks out.

If I have a bad decoder, it should trip this afternoon. I'm crossing my fingers that it was just screwed up when whomever shut off the breaker.
__________________
Give thanks, for all that He has given.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-13-2012, 05:16 PM
Mike Leary's Avatar
Mike Leary Mike Leary is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cactus Hug, Arizona
Posts: 20,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by LwnmwrMan22 View Post
Traced power lines to an electrical panel near the clock, the irrigation controller is plugged into a GFI outlet. Reset the outlet, plugged the controller in, controller works.
First thing you should have done was put your VOM on the input side.We've had quite a few discussions about GFI-protected circuits, I don't like them for your reason alone. It seems, that the first thing to do on a dead clock, after checking with the VOM, is to locate where the damn GFI is.

Last edited by Mike Leary; 07-13-2012 at 05:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-13-2012, 05:42 PM
irritation's Avatar
irritation irritation is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 2,623
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Leary View Post
First thing you should have done was put your VOM on the input side.We've had quite a few discussions about GFI-protected circuits, I don't like them for your reason alone. It seems, that the first thing to do on a dead clock, after checking with the VOM, is to locate where the damn GFI is.
Yea, that's plain stupid to call tech support and not even know you don't have power to the clock. Not sure if I should laugh or cry?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-13-2012, 05:44 PM
DanaMac's Avatar
DanaMac DanaMac is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Somewhere in the state of CO
Posts: 13,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by irritation View Post
Not sure if I should laugh or cry?
Or
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-13-2012, 05:47 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,990
Oh color us stupid!!!
no one guessed incoming power. prolly due to the power interruptus situation you posted. shoulda seen it coming.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-13-2012, 07:45 PM
grassman177's Avatar
grassman177 grassman177 is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: leavenworth, kansas
Posts: 9,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbell36 View Post
Good thing you didn't hit reset just yet...I though we were talking about the Icc, not Acc...you guys started talking about decoders then I realized this is a 2 wire system...this one is over my head, as a last resort I would try the reset
Posted via Mobile Device
yeah, i dont know those controllers either, lol
__________________
all is fair in love and grass! Man, it smells like sheet, do you smell that!!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-15-2012, 09:31 AM
LwnmwrMan22 LwnmwrMan22 is online now
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by irritation View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Leary View Post
First thing you should have done was put your VOM on the input side.We've had quite a few discussions about GFI-protected circuits, I don't like them for your reason alone. It seems, that the first thing to do on a dead clock, after checking with the VOM, is to locate where the damn GFI is.
Yea, that's plain stupid to call tech support and not even know you don't have power to the clock. Not sure if I should laugh or cry?
I had power, called tech support. They told me to pull the fuse and then pull the decoder module.

I was then told to put the fuse back in, but that's when I had no power. It was after 4 pm Hunter's, time, 6 pm my time and I had no other keys available to me to gain access to the electrical panel at the well/pump.

I went back the next day when the custodians would be available to give me access, and that's when I found the GFI.

I said some would laugh, some would cry because OF the posts about GFIs.

I'm not going to call tech support and say "hey, um..... do you know how to turn this controller on?". Just cause I'm a noob doesn't mean I've never slept at a Holiday Inn Express.
__________________
Give thanks, for all that He has given.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-15-2012, 02:33 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,990
Quote:
Originally Posted by LwnmwrMan22 View Post
I had power, called tech support. They told me to pull the fuse and then pull the decoder module.

I was then told to put the fuse back in, but that's when I had no power. It was after 4 pm Hunter's, time, 6 pm my time and I had no other keys available to me to gain access to the electrical panel at the well/pump.

I went back the next day when the custodians would be available to give me access, and that's when I found the GFI.

I said some would laugh, some would cry because OF the posts about GFIs.

I'm not going to call tech support and say "hey, um..... do you know how to turn this controller on?". Just cause I'm a noob doesn't mean I've never slept at a Holiday Inn Express.
I've never slept at a holiday inn express. what's it like?
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-15-2012, 02:34 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,990
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-15-2012, 02:42 PM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,371
like Motel 6, without the luxury
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:29 PM.

Page generated in 0.07021 seconds with 7 queries