Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-16-2012, 12:47 AM
-=Shaw=- -=Shaw=- is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Villa Rica, GA
Posts: 18
eXmark 36" - Trans Belt

First off, thanks in advance for anyone help anyone might be able to offer. Due to my limited experience in the area of commercial mowers - I might get a little long winded as I try to explain exactly what the problem is.

I purchased a used 36" eXmark walk-behind mower. During the first mow, I noticed a belt (that looked a little tattered) fell off and the mower stopped propelling itself. I took the belt to my local Ace Hardware (which is an eXmark seller) and asked for a replacement. They explained that the belt that fell off, doesn't go with the mower I was describing.

The model number of the mower is:
36-12.5k

and the serial number is:
41316-119

Those numbers are found engraved on a silver plate on the back of the mower (under the controls).

The number on the belt that fell off is:
84340

As I tried to explain exactly which belt I needed to replace, the very patient mechanic searched through several different options and models, but couldn't seem to find one that matched my mower exactly. I might have confused the issue because as I was trying to search for the part number myself, I assumed the mower to be a Metro (because that was the search result that came up the most).

He eventually gave me a rotary belt #12-5067 (1/2" x 34").

I was able to get that belt on, but it was extremely tight. When I cranked the mower, and released the brakes, the mower popped a wheelie (and it was in low gear).

Once I realized that the belt wasn't correct, I started back at square 1... aka, google search.

I finally found what I thought to be the answer to my prayers. I found this website that seemed to list eXactly what part I needed for my mower (assuming I could select it from the tiny drawing).

http://www.partstree.com/parts/?lc=e...999+%281989%29

I went back to the store, and picked up the belt I believed to be the correct belt. When I placed it on the pulleys, it seemed a little loose. The belt worked for the low gear, but as soon as I tried to change into a higher gear, the belt fell off.

The belt I bought is:
eXmark MFG Co Inc 403018 DF (what is printed on the belt).

So my question (I apologize for the long-windedness), is am I getting the wrong belts? Or am I missing something? Or is it possible that someone has altered the pulley system and I need to be looking for different belts...

After a week of this, I'm at a loss - short of sending the mower to be looked at by a professional... I'm just one of those strange breeds that likes to learn so that I will be able to maintain my equipment in the future.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-16-2012, 12:59 AM
44DCNF 44DCNF is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 1,396
Are you adjusting an idler pulley with each belt installation? Is there an arced slot in the engine deck (between engine and transmission, with a bolt and pulley mounted in it that rides the back side of your trans belt? If so loosen the nut and set that so there is a 1/2 to 5/8" deflection in longerst span of the belt.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-16-2012, 01:17 AM
-=Shaw=- -=Shaw=- is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Villa Rica, GA
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by 44DCNF View Post
Are you adjusting an idler pulley with each belt installation? Is there an arced slot in the engine deck (between engine and transmission, with a bolt and pulley mounted in it that rides the back side of your trans belt? If so loosen the nut and set that so there is a 1/2 to 5/8" deflection in longerst span of the belt.
Thank you for the post - I will climb under it in the morning and take a picture, because I have to be honest and say I understood about half of what you were saying.

For the drive belt, there are two pullies that the belt wraps around, then there is a wheel that as you go into a higher gear, presses against the belt (to seemingly add tension to the belt).

Does that answer your question?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-16-2012, 08:12 AM
dutch1's Avatar
dutch1 dutch1 is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Jayhawk
Posts: 2,165
I'm not sure, but would guess that the following link is for your unit.

http://www.4emweb.com/sis.asp?code=E...e=47100421.htm


I haven't seen a Metro in 3 or 4 years, but the idler should be adjustable--follow 44's advice.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-16-2012, 07:22 PM
-=Shaw=- -=Shaw=- is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Villa Rica, GA
Posts: 18
I tried again this morning to get the belt to work. I adjusted the pulley that adds tension to the belt (what I believe you are calling the idling pulley). When I cranked the mower and tried to move forward - not only was there no response - but the belt fell off again, this time with a large chunk being cut out.

I still wonder if it's not the wrong belt for this particular model. I followed the link dutch provided, and that belt has a different model number... but as he stated it is for a Metro (which as far as I can tell, isn't the correct model of this mower)

The model numbers for the metro's all seem to start with "M" - where as this model number doesn't begin with a letter.

Any other suggestions?





Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-16-2012, 08:10 PM
dutch1's Avatar
dutch1 dutch1 is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Jayhawk
Posts: 2,165
For some reason I didn't find this info on Exmarks website.

http://www.patspower.com/pages/OemPa...10041/10040047

This link if for an Exmark Standard 5 speed with model and serial numbers that match up. According to the info it's a 1989 model. Take a look, it's the best that I could come up with.

If this unit isn't similar, you might explore the site more thoroughly than I did.

Last edited by dutch1; 07-16-2012 at 08:14 PM. Reason: add
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-16-2012, 08:51 PM
piston slapper's Avatar
piston slapper piston slapper is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa Fl
Posts: 4,008
You have a variable speed transmission...
The different speeds are attained by the spring loaded adjustable pulley on the crankshaft...the pulley is probably stuck or rusted....
Spray it with a lubricant or remove it and free everything up...
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-16-2012, 08:56 PM
-=Shaw=- -=Shaw=- is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Villa Rica, GA
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by dutch1 View Post
For some reason I didn't find this info on Exmarks website.

http://www.patspower.com/pages/OemPa...10041/10040047

This link if for an Exmark Standard 5 speed with model and serial numbers that match up. According to the info it's a 1989 model. Take a look, it's the best that I could come up with.

If this unit isn't similar, you might explore the site more thoroughly than I did.
Thanks for the link - that's actually the same parts list I was looking at when I purchased the most recent belt (the one that I tried today).

I was wondering if it was the wrong belt, simply because this manual lists it as a 32", instead of a 36". 1-403018 is the belt I tried today. I should also note, that none of the belts I've tried fits in the groove of the idler pulley - they all seem to catch the outside of the pulley (as opposed to sitting in the groove of the other two.

Also, just out of curiosity - everything I've seen listed says that this model is a 5 speed - but the configuration I have only has 4 notches for speed... is that normal? I know the previous owner has made some changes (no dead man's switch), but the speed handle (the one that pushes the pulley onto the trans belt) only has 4 holes.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-16-2012, 10:01 PM
dutch1's Avatar
dutch1 dutch1 is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Jayhawk
Posts: 2,165
I didn't spend a lot of time checking out the diagram since I was searching for proper model numbers. It didn't hit me until I noticed the single speed transmission in your last picture.

I'd say Slapper is all over your problem.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-16-2012, 11:15 PM
-=Shaw=- -=Shaw=- is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Villa Rica, GA
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by piston slapper View Post
You have a variable speed transmission...
The different speeds are attained by the spring loaded adjustable pulley on the crankshaft...the pulley is probably stuck or rusted....
Spray it with a lubricant or remove it and free everything up...
Posted via Mobile Device
That explains it, thanks for clearing it up for me. Now that I understand that, would it be safe to say that I need to be using the Trans belt listed here:

http://www.4emweb.com/sis.asp?code=E...e=10030015.htm

#1-303078?

Also, In looking at that diagram - I can't pinpoint which pulley you're talking about (the adjustable one) - just wanted to know should I need to replace it.

I really appreciate the help!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
exmark , problem solving , transmisson

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:22 PM.

Page generated in 0.08341 seconds with 8 queries