Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old 07-19-2012, 07:39 PM
irritation's Avatar
irritation irritation is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 2,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by bx24 View Post
That is why I install heads 5 ft under max throw when I measure max PSI..I could do 33 easy but do 25 ft. Well worth it..Heads are cheap and keep customer happy.
What do you do when the area is 40' wide, install three rotors and crank them down or use sprays?
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 07-19-2012, 10:26 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,904
so, boots and or pete, what is the max zone size for each meter?
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 07-19-2012, 10:29 PM
FIMCO-MEISTER's Avatar
FIMCO-MEISTER FIMCO-MEISTER is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Red State America
Posts: 18,734
For me 12-15 on a 5/8 depending on pressure up to 30 on a 1" above that 1.5" and when you get to 70gpm I refer you to a buddy.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 07-19-2012, 10:41 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,904
Quote:
Originally Posted by FIMCO-MEISTER View Post
For me 12-15 on a 5/8 depending on pressure up to 30 on a 1" above that 1.5" and when you get to 70gpm I refer you to a buddy.
thanks, pete

i can guestimate a pump system but have never figured meters below 1.5 and that's for small ag irrigation
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 07-19-2012, 11:29 PM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 39,842
If I needed 20 gpm from a 5/8 (old-style) meter, I use it, and sucks to the water company - those meters are built like tanks
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 07-20-2012, 10:24 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,904
Quote:
Originally Posted by ls3c6 View Post
system is being installed as we speak, i suppose if i run each zone and it doesn't send water HEAD TO HEAD then i complain, until then we can only speculate
now that you're installed, what's the verdict?

zones? throw? coverage? time? happy? piss'd?
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 07-22-2012, 11:43 PM
ls3c6 ls3c6 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Midwest
Posts: 78
well it's finished, ended up with 6 zones and 34 T3 heads. SL800 controller and SLW15 wireless weatherstation.

All but 2 heads hit each other during operation and primarily 2-3gpm nozzles were used, anywhere I place a rain gauge I get .4-.5" per hour.

I have it set to auto with clay type soil, .5" per hour and will let it decide runtimes... it's been calculating temperatures but not defecit yet, might take a few days of data and resorts to standard until then?

Only gripe I have is a lot of the yard got torn up, I have new topsoil and seed in the places where the valve boxes and whatnot went, pretty much an awful time of the year to grew new grass so i'll deal with it more come sept 1

Also wish weathermatic had a WIFI / app control I could use my phone/web as the device.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 07-22-2012, 11:53 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,904
Quote:
Originally Posted by ls3c6 View Post
well it's finished, ended up with 6 zones and 34 T3 heads. SL800 controller and SLW15 wireless weatherstation.

All but 2 heads hit each other during operation and primarily 2-3gpm nozzles were used, anywhere I place a rain gauge I get .4-.5" per hour.

I have it set to auto with clay type soil, .5" per hour and will let it decide runtimes... it's been calculating temperatures but not defecit yet, might take a few days of data and resorts to standard until then?

Only gripe I have is a lot of the yard got torn up, I have new topsoil and seed in the places where the valve boxes and whatnot went, pretty much an awful time of the year to grew new grass so i'll deal with it more come sept 1

Also wish weathermatic had a WIFI / app control I could use my phone/web as the device.
the only pay we get are the follow up posts, thanks.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 07-23-2012, 07:59 AM
FIMCO-MEISTER's Avatar
FIMCO-MEISTER FIMCO-MEISTER is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Red State America
Posts: 18,734
Ditto

Those bare spots disappear fast. What type of turf again? Just make sure all is level including the valve boxes. Look for settling. Take a soil sample and put it in a jar of water and shake the dickens out of it and see how it settles. Never a bad idea to send a sample in to the extensiOn service for analysis. Might as well make a science of this. You seem to have those qualities.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 07-23-2012, 08:35 PM
S.O.Contracting S.O.Contracting is online now
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: State Of Panic
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by ls3c6 View Post

Also wish weathermatic had a WIFI / app control I could use my phone/web as the device.
http://www.weathermatic.com/index.cfm?page=SmartLink

This might fit what you want.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:59 PM.

Page generated in 0.09019 seconds with 8 queries