Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 08-12-2012, 06:51 AM
LawnSite Member

Which ZTR for big guy?

I am mowing 12 acres with only 2 areas that have mild slope. Quite a few trees and flower beds. I am 6'2" and over 300# and need a generous seat. I would appreciate some pro advice on which ZTR would be best for my size and for the long run. I know I am not mowing for a living but I want the best and price is not a deal breaker. I am used to having to pay first class for a big a**.
Old 08-12-2012, 08:04 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Dr Dan, you will get many different answers cuz of brand loyalties of each LCO. But people on here are very knowledgable abt their favorite brand. Some will be able to give pros &cons of different ZTRs if they have switched from one to another. But once you learn the best mower by each maker, then you can go out & check each one at local dealers. Also dealer location may determine what you go with. Exmark may be down the road while Scag dealer might be 45 minute drive. I can't give advice on ZTR as i don't own any.
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 08-12-2012, 09:57 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Check out a scag cheetah
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 08-12-2012, 10:21 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

What is your high end budget? Because the Ferris 5100Z Diesel would be a great machine for the job, but were talking 16K.
Echo SRM-210
Stihl BR-600 Magnum
Stihl FS90
AMSOIL In Everything I own
Old 08-13-2012, 01:46 AM
LawnSite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReddensLawnCare View Post
Check out a scag cheetah
Posted via Mobile Device
Tried one just on pavement at dealer. Could not appreciate the operator suspension cause it was smooth. Seat ok but still the control arms nearly rubbed my legs. I liked the fittings on the spindles. Hate sealed bearings.
Zero percent for 48 months or $11,500 OTD he will pay the tax free delivery. I need to try it on grass.
Old 08-13-2012, 01:50 AM
LawnSite Member

Quote: