Register free!

Old 08-15-2012, 07:12 PM
LawnSite Member

A few questions: Brick edging/mortar set

Hi guys -
I'm new here with a few questions. First off, to let you know my background: i have a degree in Horticulture and spent the past 5 years working for one of the largest landscape architecture firms in the midwest doing ultra high end residential and a lot of green roof work. I finally quit working for them and have been doing landscape maintenance for someone else and am slowly starting up my own design/build firm.

Questions:
I worked on a lot of budgeting but always had reference unit pricing numbers when we designed a project. Now that I am bidding/quoting, and just starting to do it, I'm obviously finding it difficult. I can take a pretty good estimate at how long a task will take, but I am more of a "by the numbers" type of guy. Is there a good reference book or site stating that it will take x amount of time to do specific jobs? In college we had a sheet that a company had put out where it takes you so long to move a wheelbarrow - but of course it was trashed when I was done with school.

example, how long does it take to prep and install 10' of brick edging, mortar set, simple site access, 2 person crew, etc.

What do you guys charge for brick edging per lf? or a standard unilock retaining wall per ff?

Appreciate any help to a new business owner.
Old 08-15-2012, 10:29 PM
LawnSite Gold Member

Production rates are super useful as is unit pricing but its not a fan favorite method on here. Most say to base it on personal historic info like time + materials but its hard to do that when you're just starting out. What state are you in?
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 08-15-2012, 10:50 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Two people should be able to do 10ft in about 1 hour tops.