Register free!

Old 09-01-2012, 01:46 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Battery Weed Trimmers

I know this is kind of lame, but hear me out...

I am a full-service solo operator that doesn't do a lot of lawns, as much as I do a lot,,, on fewer lawns... I've been turning down new jobs for years, unless it is something interesting and a fun challenge to do...

So the need for a hardworking trimmer is unnecessary and the one I recently bought is already irritating me and costing me downtime and foolish trips to the mechanic...

I know its asking a lot for anyone to admit using one, but perhaps you've heard of those folks who've actually had one and would be willing to share whether it could be worthwhile to have, 3 charged batteries for a medium load 45 minute job...

I'm seriously considering this, so any information is appreciated...
Old 09-01-2012, 02:01 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

I do not see it as feasible.

That said I have not tried one. But I cannot see the amount of wasted time going back to the truck for a new battery....... 3 times in 45 mins.

If your "new" trimmer is giving you that many fits then I'd suggest that the problem is in your wallet not with having a gas powered trimmer. Don't buy home owner grade equipment and it should serve you better.

I still have a 98 redmax bc2600 trimmer I bought new. This summer I put a new gas tank on it.
Prior to that its had new air filters and new spark plugs....... thats it.
Old 09-01-2012, 02:21 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by BPS## View Post
I do not see it as feasible.

That said I have not tried one. But I cannot see the amount of wasted time going back to the truck for a new battery....... 3 times in 45 mins.

If your "new" trimmer is giving you that many fits then I'd suggest that the problem is in your wallet not with having a gas powered trimmer. Don't buy home owner grade equipment and it should serve you better.