Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 09-06-2012, 02:39 PM
LawnSite Member

White Smoke-Help!

I have a 2009 61" Scag Turf Tiger, 27 hp Kawasaki engine with only 140 hrs on it. Today after a few hours cutting pretty long grass, it occasionally would blow large plumes of white smoke. I shut it down and checked all levels, all levels were fine. Started it back up and ran for awhile, noticed it would only blow the smoke when headed downhill and turning left.

Any ideas? All I can think of is the right side hydro pump.

Thanks.
Old 09-06-2012, 03:02 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Hard to say, head gasket? oil too full? is it Liquid cooled? Cracked head? do a compression test. Just suggestions, I'm not a mechanic. Thats low hours for an 09. I am pretty sure there is no warranty coverage left by time but certainly not by hours.
Old 09-06-2012, 03:25 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

I assume because you said you checked "all" levels, that it is a LQ engine.

White smoke is an idication of either a bad head gasket, or cracked head. Water/coolant gets into the combustion chamber and you get white smoke from the exhaust. Don't keep running it like that. If you aren't sure what to check, have someone that does (or your dealer) look at it asap.
Old 09-06-2012, 03:26 PM
LawnSite Member

Thanks Ed. Yes, its liquid cooled and the oil and all other levels are fine. Runs great until I head down a hill, slow down and bank a left turn, that's when the smoke would blow out. Obviously I didn't want to run it too long with it doing this, so could be coincidence that it did it twice on the same hill before I shut it down.
Old 09-06-2012, 03:28 PM
LawnSite Member

Thanks Green, that was my fear as well. It is an LQ engine and I know just enough about engines to take them apart and never get them back together again.....so going to trailer it in to a Scag dealer.
Old 09-06-2012, 03:33 PM
LawnSite Fanatic