Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 09-12-2012, 12:24 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

? On pricing of clearing approx 25+ downed trees & 10+ damaged/dead standing trees

Have a few questions. Location is a subdivision with no houses. Trees are spread out over a fairly large area. Approx 25 trees fell or snapped off during hurrican isaac two weeks ago. Trees range in size from 20ft to 60+ft in length. Trees are entagled pretty good in some spots. Property owner wants all the downed trees cut up and hauled to back of the subdivision for latter disposal. Also has approx 10-15 standing trees he wants cut down also. This could lead to year round work with this developer. Equipment i have to move debris is skidsteer with grapple, tractor with fel, my crew. This is my first time pricing so many trees at one time. How would you vets go about this? Pics included.
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 09-12-2012, 01:28 PM
LawnSite Member

Do it hourly. Looks like a big job. Good luck
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 09-12-2012, 02:18 PM
LawnSite Gold Member

For starters, I'd look at how much you can chip out of those trees. I'd look at haul off of the big logs if they aren't worth anything.

If you can get a mulcher in there for the tops and find an area to use as a landing, you can consolidate brush using a trailer loaded by the skid. Figure on $1200/day for a mulcher on a skid. It should be able to do the tops and branches from 25 trees in one day.

Once you have a mental picture of the size of the brush pile that can be chipped or mulched, the number of logs that are left to haul off that are too big to mulch or chip, you will be able to start pricing for your time.