Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 09-14-2012, 06:23 PM
LawnSite Member

Landscape Freelancer

I am planning to start up my own landscape freelance business. I do not intend on making this into a full-scale business, but I may consider filing for a sole proprietorship one day (probably not). I have 6 years of experience in landscaping and I intend on doing simple yard work and cleanup while using the tools and equipment a customer is able to provide. I own a car. I also intend on leaving as much information as I need to on my business flyers, so that people do not just look at me like a scam artist. However, I am not sure if it is a good idea to leave my home address. With that in mind, I would like to know my options as far as how much I should charge and any legal issues I might encounter.

Thank you
Your help is much appreciated,
Cam
Old 09-15-2012, 05:04 AM
LawnSite Silver Member

If you don't want to leave your home address you can get a po box cheap enough.

Here are my questions for you. You have no cotrol over the maintenance of the customers mower, so what are you going to do if you drive to a customer and his mower won't start? You will waste your time and gas driving there, then you will waste your time while you are trying to get the mower to start. Are you still going to ask them to pay you? or will you loose money? If a customer sees that you do not have your own equipment they will assume you are inexperienced, why would they pay you when there are other inexperienced people on craigs list who will have their own equipment and will do it for $25.
You need to make enough to pay for general liability insurance to
Old 09-15-2012, 08:45 AM
LawnSite Member

How refreshing to read a post with someone who wants to contribute towards improvement of the industry and isn't in it for a selfish easy money scheme without accountability.
Old 09-15-2012, 08:56 AM
LawnSite Senior Member