Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-02-2012, 06:38 PM
S&MLL S&MLL is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Somerset County NJ
Posts: 749
Well if timer and app modules are on same phase in a single panel home then your in the clear
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-02-2012, 06:50 PM
INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting's Avatar
INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,866
Yes, "if" is the key here... If they are not on the same phase then you will need a phase coupler to ensure reliability.
__________________
James Solecki
INTEGRA ~ Bespoke Lighting Systems ®
JSLDesign Inc.


www.integralighting.com

www.facebook.com/INTEGRA.Lighting

Affiliations: IESNA, IALD, IDA, AOLP, LO, MBA
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-02-2012, 06:54 PM
S&MLL S&MLL is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Somerset County NJ
Posts: 749
Yes your right James but it does take all of 5 minutes to open the panel and swap a breaker to the spot above or below
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-02-2012, 07:02 PM
INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting's Avatar
INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,866
IF you are a licensed electrician, and IF the panel is wired such that it is easy to do, then yes you are correct. IF you are not an electrician the LAST thing you should be doing is going into a panel to do anything. Doing so does nothing to promote the professionalism of our industry and your operation.
__________________
James Solecki
INTEGRA ~ Bespoke Lighting Systems ®
JSLDesign Inc.


www.integralighting.com

www.facebook.com/INTEGRA.Lighting

Affiliations: IESNA, IALD, IDA, AOLP, LO, MBA
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-02-2012, 07:09 PM
S&MLL S&MLL is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Somerset County NJ
Posts: 749
Oh im with you on all of these ifs james. I just assume steves clients are professionals and knows these things. If hes pushing upb to joe the landscaper then he has bigger problems then phase a vs b
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-02-2012, 07:21 PM
JimLewis's Avatar
JimLewis JimLewis is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 6,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Atkinson View Post
Guys,

Have you considered using the Simply Automated DKIT-05? Contains a UCS master timer and two plug-in relay modules that go in place of the timer in each transformer.

Timer keeps very accurate time, has astronomical feature calculated by zip code, backup battery, and will run up to 99 different timed events. Extra components can be added for advanced control of other lighting, appliances, or electrical circuits.

Costs more than a standard timer, but it gives the client many more control options when the control source is not within the transformer.
Sure, I've considered it. But an intermatic astro timer costs me about thirty bucks. What would the Simply Automated system cost me? 10x that???? Maybe more?
__________________
Jim Lewis
Lewis Landscape Services - Oregon
"kickin' grass and takin' names"


www.lewislandscape.com - Portland Oregon Landscaping Company

landscape design Portland Oregon
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-02-2012, 07:28 PM
S&MLL S&MLL is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Somerset County NJ
Posts: 749
Contact Steve lets not get in a price battle over internet
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-02-2012, 10:27 PM
JimLewis's Avatar
JimLewis JimLewis is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 6,281
I'm not looking for an exact price. I'm aware of how much the Simply Automated systems cost. My point is they're not really anywhere close to the same price range as a timer. With the control unit, astro. outlet, and phase coupler (not to mention labor for all these and the possibilty of needing to hire an electrician for the phase coupler) - this option really isn't in the same price range, at all.

Don't get me wrong. I really like the Simply Automated systems. Really clever stuff. And I like Steve as well. The new stuff they have out is a huge improvement over the stuff that had last year. But I am not sure this is really a suitable replacement for a $30 timer, that's all I'm saying.
__________________
Jim Lewis
Lewis Landscape Services - Oregon
"kickin' grass and takin' names"


www.lewislandscape.com - Portland Oregon Landscaping Company

landscape design Portland Oregon

Last edited by JimLewis; 10-02-2012 at 10:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-02-2012, 10:31 PM
S&MLL S&MLL is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Somerset County NJ
Posts: 749
Try the external intermatics like i said earlier ive had no issues with them
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-02-2012, 11:18 PM
Steve Atkinson Steve Atkinson is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NorCalif
Posts: 86
Thanks Jim for the kind words.

A final note and I will finish this thread off.

For $30.00 one gets one timer for one transformer.

For about 10X as Jim observed, one gets a baseline megatimer and receivers to create a system with great capabilities for the client.

Two very different product applications.

Enough Said. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.com™ - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:22 PM.

Page generated in 0.09232 seconds with 7 queries