Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 10-04-2012, 04:14 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Gravely Prostance review (small one)

Today I finally got to demo the 48" Prostance. This is my first time on a stander, so I was a bit clumsy with the controls. I didn't have it that long (only had one property to mow today, but it was the one I most wanted to demo the mower on). Even in only the short time I had it, I was starting to get the hang of it better. The salesman said they tell guys going from a Z to the stander to expect about a month's worth of mowing time to become as proficient as they were on their Z, and that seems about right to me. The machine only had a touch over 3 hours on it when he brought it out to me. It had medium lift blades on it, and was wearing the FX691V which is 22 HP under the new system of rating engine HP. This one is not the new version that is coming out with the wider discharge chute opening, and rubber mounted standing platform.

Pros:
This thing cuts awesome. The grass wasn't that long, and it has been really dry here again lately, but it left a beautiful cut with zero stringers anywhere

It is short and very maneuverable.

I only had one small hill to try it on, but I have placed my dial angle finder on top of my Z's deck when on it, and know that it ranged from and average of 15 degrees, up to 18 degrees in a couple spots. I mowed across the hill and it was a walk in the park. I know that isn't that steep, but it is at or near, where a lot of manu's say is the limit.

Very comfortable platform, but IMO, really needs the suspension upgrade that is coming.

The discharge on the dry grass was as expected- great. It also discharged all the leaves very well that I had to mulch up in a few places.

The ease of getting to the grease zerks under the front cover, through the top of the belt shields, and any pulley's etc under the cover.

Cons: