Register free!

Old 10-23-2012, 10:26 PM
LawnSite Gold Member

Advion VS Bad Infestation

Has anyone used Dupont Advion on a bad fire ant problem? I have a senior living complex that is BADDDDDDDDDD. Acres of ants. I have had good luck on some places that do not have irrigation with Advion but they did not even come close to the number of mounds this place has. I would love to spray, drench and water but this is not really a option for me on this place.
Old 10-23-2012, 11:14 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Have you looked at top choices it's expensive but works great. We use advion to treat mounds only. Duocide works well for a cheaper option but I think only works for 30days. It will get them under control. The top choice lasts a year and is a really low rate.
Old 10-24-2012, 01:35 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

I am not a fan of Dupont Advion Insect Granule Bait. I have had little experience with it because it hasn't been successful for me. Yes it does seem to have a quicker but less effective Knock down. Other Baits that take weeks to gain control seem to be a more complete solution. Of course the Time factor to get into the food chain and do the job is the big draw back to baits.

I might suggest spraying in the High Traffic areas and using baits on the rest.

"TG doesn't give a rats ass about being "Responsible" as long as sales/production quotas are met. That's it in a nutshell. A recipe for disaster IMO." Ted Putnam 2/28/14

You can lead a Donkey to water but you can't make the Jackass Drink

"As Americans you have the right to be stupid." John Kerry

"Life is tough, but it's tougher when you're stupid.” John Wayne.
Old 10-25-2012, 03:54 PM
LawnSite Member

TopChoice, I believe is a restricted product, expensive but effective on preventing re-infestations.