Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center



Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-03-2012, 11:13 PM
Tomt Tomt is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pace Fla.
Posts: 202
02 Walker 26 EFI

Was running fine and just started loading up/running rich (black smoke). Removed air filter to make sure not plugged, no change, checked plugs, sooty but otherwise in spec and look fine. My next step was to clean O2 sensor.
Professional thoughts appreciated, others accepted too, lol.
Thanks in advance.
__________________
Tomt.......,
Custom Lawn Care
North West Florida
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2012, 10:17 AM
Tomt Tomt is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pace Fla.
Posts: 202
No ideas? the mower only has 450 hrs, and is well maintained. I only use in fall and winter, as in I need to be using it now. Any suggestions as to next step, much appreciated.
__________________
Tomt.......,
Custom Lawn Care
North West Florida
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2012, 10:30 AM
MOW ED's Avatar
MOW ED MOW ED is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: N.E. Wisconsin
Posts: 5,029
There is a little return spring on the linkage on the top of the motor. It is a very fine diameter spring and I broke one last year with similar results. Check that out. Do you know how to get the codes off the yellow light? You may also see if there is an engine code that you can trace.

Go to this thread and read up on the codes.

http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.p...t=engine+codes


Good Luck
__________________
Check out the SPONSORS, they keep this site going!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-2012, 10:51 AM
Tomt Tomt is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pace Fla.
Posts: 202
Mow Ed, no and thanks for the helpful info
__________________
Tomt.......,
Custom Lawn Care
North West Florida
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-04-2012, 06:09 PM
Curtis Curtis is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lancaster S.C
Posts: 155
I had a problem with my 26efi last month,fouling out the plugs running rich never seem to break out of that warm up stage. Never got any bad codes always a 61. Called Kohler and they said it was a oil temp sensor near the oil filter and another ground wire with two new bolts on the starter in a kit. Had it replaced and runs good so far. Leaves are definitly here.
__________________
Curtis
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-05-2012, 04:27 PM
Tomt Tomt is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pace Fla.
Posts: 202
Ran the test and code 34 came up.
__________________
Tomt.......,
Custom Lawn Care
North West Florida
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-05-2012, 08:42 PM
MOW ED's Avatar
MOW ED MOW ED is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: N.E. Wisconsin
Posts: 5,029
That looks like an O2 sensor problem. I have to run now but if you need me to expand I will be back on either later or tomorrow. Take care
__________________
Check out the SPONSORS, they keep this site going!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-05-2012, 10:57 PM
Jet Mech Jet Mech is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indy
Posts: 26
Similar Problem In The Past!

Take your O2 sensor out of the muffler and clean the carbon off the sensor tip. This can be done with a propane torch. Be careful while doing this, just get the sensor tip to glow red hot long enough to bun off the carbon deposits. Allow it to cool off and reinstall the sensor.

The ECM will now be able to get the necessary input from the O2 sensor and adjust accordingly after allowing the motor to warm up for awhile. Good Luck.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-06-2012, 02:48 AM
chuacro chuacro is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Memphis,TN
Posts: 555
My 2006 started blowing smoke and I found gas in the oil. I replaced the fuel pump and solved the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-19-2012, 11:35 AM
Lawdog302's Avatar
Lawdog302 Lawdog302 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mid West
Posts: 197
Did you get this fixed? those years had problems with the ground wire running to the starter bolt. it was stainless steel instead of tinned copper. It will send mixed readings to the computer if it has never been changed. something to look at possibly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:40 AM.

Page generated in 0.07443 seconds with 9 queries