Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-19-2012, 08:46 PM
mowisme mowisme is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Posts: 786
what wire for light? (Honda GX620)

I got the motor running good and quite sure its charging (will check at battery tomorrow)..But by looking at the wiring schematic I'm really not sure which wire if any where I can run a small led light off? Before or after rectifier/reg? It's a 20amp Honda GX620- Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2012, 10:00 PM
Restrorob's Avatar
Restrorob Restrorob is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Show'n my truck off !
Posts: 10,530
IMO, You'd be better off running a separate circuit.....

From battery pos post or battery post on starter solenoid to a 15/20 amp in-line fuse, Run to a cigarette lighter plug or toggle switch depending which style light you have (portable/mounted).

This way doesn't put any extra draw on the unit wire harness and gives full 12.5+ volts to the light.....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by piston slapper View Post
You never learn anything until you admit you don't know it all...

"Why go out preserved when you can go out beat up, worn out, sliding in sideways screaming, Holy Sh!t What A Ride" !!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2012, 11:18 PM
mowisme mowisme is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Posts: 786
Thanks Rob- I got 12v coming to my switch from the battery..Can I just tap into that before it gets to switch or right at switch?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-20-2012, 06:47 AM
Restrorob's Avatar
Restrorob Restrorob is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Show'n my truck off !
Posts: 10,530
What amp fuse is in the main harness ?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by piston slapper View Post
You never learn anything until you admit you don't know it all...

"Why go out preserved when you can go out beat up, worn out, sliding in sideways screaming, Holy Sh!t What A Ride" !!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-20-2012, 06:57 AM
mowisme mowisme is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Posts: 786
fuse..

Rob- I got a 20A in main harness just before switch. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-20-2012, 12:10 PM
Restrorob's Avatar
Restrorob Restrorob is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Show'n my truck off !
Posts: 10,530
Go ahead and tie in to the switch wire, If you have any issues you can later run a separate wire if needed.....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by piston slapper View Post
You never learn anything until you admit you don't know it all...

"Why go out preserved when you can go out beat up, worn out, sliding in sideways screaming, Holy Sh!t What A Ride" !!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-20-2012, 12:28 PM
mowisme mowisme is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Posts: 786
Thanks Rob..

I got just a small battery and stuffed in a tight spot- So I'll try as you said- if any issues I'll go with another wire from Battery. You can see what I'm dealing with on the pic's at 'Ariens tall chute' post on the best snowblower and lawnmower forum..you can see in one of pic's the battery. Geno
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:00 PM.

Page generated in 0.06856 seconds with 7 queries