Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 11-23-2012, 01:30 PM
LawnSite Member

Need to replace my Hustler

Hello everyone, this is my first ever question. I have been using a Hustler 42" cut with a Kohler engine for 4 years, it is their Fastrack model, it has about 400 hours on it. I have looked at the new ones, but have also looked at Bad Boy, Gravely, and Dixie Chopper. I am trying to stay around the 3700 dollar range. I am totally confused. At age 59, I hope this is the last Zero turn I will ever buy. The Gravely salesperson showed me a 44" commercial, a 2012 model, that he will let go for around 4600. I mow several locations, not commercially, just properties that I have. The Gravely seems to offer more comfort with my legs, since I have 2 knee replacements. I need to do something, I have already sold my Hustler. Any suggestions?
Old 11-23-2012, 02:22 PM
LawnSite Member

Get a full commercial mower and then it will be the last one you buy.. You end up getting another residential mower it will only last you another 4 years if your lucky..
Old 11-23-2012, 02:31 PM
LawnSite Member

Thanks, that makes sense. I will keep that in mind.
Old 11-23-2012, 02:42 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Definitely get a commercial mower for longevity. Was your Hustler going to crap already at 400hrs? Was it a low end residential unit? I have never run a gravley, I have a used 48" Ariens with 300-400 hrs and I can't remember the motor brand. It had a fabricated, not stamped deck but it was a piece of crap, cut well but the hydros were already going bad and couldn't handle and incline.

-Michael

2006 GMC Sierra 2500hd crew cab
BOSS 8'2" Power V
Hustler X-one 60"
Toro Proline 36" wb w/t-bar controls
Toro 22"
Shindaiwa T254, Echo trimmers, chainsaws, pole hedge trimmer, pole saw, hedge trimmer
Shindaiwa 633 and Echo 760LN
Old 11-23-2012, 02:57 PM
LawnSite Member