Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 12-20-2012, 03:41 PM
LawnSite Member

Drainage Basin - Maintenance Methods and Type of Grass Help

I could see where this question could fit in 3 or 4 sub forums, sorry if I picked the wrong one.

I'm a real estate developer in central Virginia. We just put in a very large storm water drainage basin with very steep sides. For all previous basins I've done, the sides were less steep and we (and the HOAs and grounds management companies after us) were able to just mow them normally, but that wont really be possible this time.

So here are my two questions to the experts:

a) Is there a method I am not thinking of that would allow us to easily cut the basin on a regular basis? It's too steep for a ZTR and even too steep for a stander. That leaves, as far as I can tell, string trimmers which would take an age to do. Purchasing another mower (large walk behind?) just for this purpose is probably not in the cards.

b) If there is no method I'm not thinking of, what are some types of grass I can plant on the steep walls that doesn't grow very high (6" max would be great)? I know of weeping love grass but it's not exactly attractive. By keeping it from growing tall, it means we won't have to cut it more than once or twice per year. I'm told weeping love will take over the fescue mix that is currently beginning to grow on it which is a bonus. Completely stripping the surface and replanting is not an option - the soil must be and remain stabilized.

Very much appreciate your thoughts!

-Jesse
Old 12-20-2012, 04:00 PM
LawnSite Member

without the degree of slope its just a wag
Old 12-20-2012, 04:05 PM
LawnSite Member

Uploading photos as we speak. I dont have the plans with me so I cant determine the exact slope right now but these should give you a general idea.

One end is slightly steeper than the the other.

Old 12-21-2012, 11:57 AM
LawnSite Senior Member