Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 01-23-2013, 07:52 PM
LawnSite Member

Small Retaining Wall Project

Hey Guys,

This is my first year doing hardscaping on my own. Have worked in landscaping/hardscaping for a while but most was landscape work. Working up a proposal for what will be my first wall project. ICPI certified. Seems like a nice job to start with. Have never designed or estimated this work before so I have a few questions.

I am removing old wall and lighting on one side of driveway and installing new wall (29 linear ft) and lights, but homeowner wants to keep old steps and walkway.

House already has a mix of stone and brick so worried an EP Henry Wall will not fit in, so any input on that would help.

If excavated dirt is level and raise grade behind wall, and assuming new wall follows same line as old wall, should wall be height of the top step and then run an "L" carry it back to where the step meets the walkway?

On other side, just removing wood edging and putting new edge, probably cobble stone.

Thanks for any help. Trying to learn and do things right.
Old 01-23-2013, 07:58 PM
LawnSite Member

trying to upload photos
Old 01-23-2013, 08:05 PM
LawnSite Member

here's the pictures
Attached Images

Old 01-23-2013, 08:08 PM
LawnSite Member

also, meant to write If exavated dirt is "USED TO" level and raise grade behind wall
Old 01-23-2013, 09:41 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

I would just do coblestone on both sides and grade the lawn to meet it. I don't think it requires a proper "wall"
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 01-23-2013, 10:00 PM
LawnSite Member

Don't forget geogrid

Posted via Mobile Device
Old 01-24-2013, 12:58 AM
LawnSite Member

I know it's low. Customer asked for a wall and it could be used here. Would everyone recommend against it? That's what forums are for, learning and teaching.
Old 01-24-2013, 08:30 AM
LawnSite Silver Member