Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2013, 01:46 PM
Niagara Falls's Avatar
Niagara Falls Niagara Falls is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 149
Pond is frozen

I have 2 different pond heaters and still my pond is frozen over completely.

I'm concerned about breaking the ice and disturbing the fish. The only pond store around is closed until Mar for their winter vacation, so I'm looking for some direction.

Can I smash the ice and hopefully reset the heaters, that is if they're not history.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2013, 01:57 AM
stebs stebs is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Eastern KS
Posts: 166
I have a floating fountain in mine that I just removed the nozzle from and let it run... I think its a 550gph pump. It usually stays thawed around that fountain for me.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-19-2013, 02:09 AM
slowleak1 slowleak1 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: harvey LA
Posts: 416
The ice is insulating the rest of the water, I would leave it be and let the heaters do there thing underneath that layer of ice. How big is this pond?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2013, 04:43 PM
neighborguy neighborguy is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Southeastern Wisconsin
Posts: 170
I will admit that I a fairly new to the pond world but from what I understand, if you don't have a hole in the ice, there will be no oxygen exchange. Gases will build up under the ice and fish could die from lack of oxygen.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2013, 10:28 AM
Niagara Falls's Avatar
Niagara Falls Niagara Falls is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 149
I broke a hole at one edge and put in a small bubbler.
I'll see how that works over the next week.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-21-2013, 10:40 AM
tadpole's Avatar
tadpole tadpole is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 1,171
Must be getting awfully cold for your water to freeze with both heaters working. If I remember correctly, one of the heaters was fairly large. Are you sure that you didn't lose power to the heaters?
Yes, breaking a hole in the ice is dangerous. The shock wave that is created in the water when you are breaking the ice can be deadly to the fish.
Do you have any idea how thick the ice is?
Sorry that I didn't catch this when it was first posted.
__________________
"Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects." - Will Rogers
Ripples
Aquatic Habitats
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2013, 07:33 PM
zedosix's Avatar
zedosix zedosix is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 2,361
I was in Brockville yesterday and it was cold, not like here but cold. Problem is you don't have any insulation over the pond, you guys have no snow down there so the ice is real thick!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:18 AM.

Page generated in 0.06777 seconds with 9 queries