Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-03-2013, 03:21 PM
piston slapper's Avatar
piston slapper piston slapper is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa Fl
Posts: 4,008
Are you sure you found all the fuses.?
Does the fuelpump run when you turn the key on.?
Did you cycle the key 3 times ..and check the codes.?

And the most important one...did you check the archives on this site...to see what fixed similar engines with the same problem.???
__________________
If You Have All The Answers...Except The One You Need...You're Not Trying Hard Enough...
Do The Work
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-03-2013, 03:25 PM
piston slapper's Avatar
piston slapper piston slapper is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa Fl
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by joesimoes2 View Post
Try finding used one new is around 1k
Please don't take any advice from this poster....
He posts useless info on this forum...and will get you to waste a ton of money..

Click on his name above the post....click on find all posts...read them for yourself...
__________________
If You Have All The Answers...Except The One You Need...You're Not Trying Hard Enough...
Do The Work
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-03-2013, 03:37 PM
Landrus2's Avatar
Landrus2 Landrus2 is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Big apple
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by piston slapper View Post
Please don't take any advice from this poster....
He posts useless info on this forum...and will get you to waste a ton of money..

Click on his name above the post....click on find all posts...read them for yourself...
My advice is a good as yours. A new ecu installed at shop that's what I said around 1k. When was the last time you installed one. Be smart and wait for the out come you give all your advice and at end we see how much you know
He will tell us what he paid to fix right. So let's wait for out come
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-03-2013, 03:43 PM
Jusmowin Jusmowin is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Va Beach,Va
Posts: 727
Pistonslapper, Yes im pretty sure I found and checked them all. Yes the fuel pump runs when I turn on the key. Yes the little yellow light flashed 4 times and then goes out . What do you think?
__________________
Cheap is never good and good is never cheap!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-03-2013, 03:48 PM
piston slapper's Avatar
piston slapper piston slapper is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa Fl
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by piston slapper View Post
Please don't take any advice from this poster....
He posts useless info on this forum...and will get you to waste a ton of money..

Click on his name above the post....click on find all posts...read them for yourself...
As I was saying....
He already has you replacing the ECU.....without even checking the grounds or the relays..
He reading the blink codes is something like CIA codes..????

No..I'm not fond of this member...but I try to tolerate his antics...
More importantly...he posted his comments..I didn't...
Go ahead and read his posts...and mine too....
__________________
If You Have All The Answers...Except The One You Need...You're Not Trying Hard Enough...
Do The Work
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-03-2013, 03:53 PM
piston slapper's Avatar
piston slapper piston slapper is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa Fl
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jusmowin View Post
Pistonslapper, Yes im pretty sure I found and checked them all. Yes the fuel pump runs when I turn on the key. Yes the little yellow light flashed 4 times and then goes out . What do you think?
Something wrong with the blink codes...the last code is always 61...
Did you cycle it properly.? Turn key on and off 3 times..leaving it in the on position..
If. You still get that funky code...disconnect the battery...unplug the. ECU...and plug it back in..reconnect the battery..try it again...
__________________
If You Have All The Answers...Except The One You Need...You're Not Trying Hard Enough...
Do The Work
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-03-2013, 03:57 PM
Landrus2's Avatar
Landrus2 Landrus2 is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Big apple
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by piston slapper View Post
As I was saying....
He already has you replacing the ECU.....without even checking the grounds or the relays..
He reading the blink codes is something like CIA codes..????

No..I'm not fond of this member...but I try to tolerate his antics...
More importantly...he posted his comments..I didn't...
Go ahead and read his posts...and mine too....
That was my advice befor you came on board
Do you know you can easily burn your ecu by jump starting this machine see if you can find a shop that have the kohler test equipment for EFI engines...
If you do end up needing an ECU its probably a kit that converts it to a newer plastic box unit...thats why its so expensive I would think.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-03-2013, 03:59 PM
piston slapper's Avatar
piston slapper piston slapper is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa Fl
Posts: 4,008
Most of the issues with the EFI systems are poor connections..
It might take a half hour...but...if you unplug and plug back in every connector you can find...and clean every ground..
It'll probably be fixed...a bad ground is the usual suspect..
__________________
If You Have All The Answers...Except The One You Need...You're Not Trying Hard Enough...
Do The Work
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-03-2013, 04:01 PM
piston slapper's Avatar
piston slapper piston slapper is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa Fl
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by joesimoes2 View Post
That was my advice befor you came on board
Do you know you can easily burn your ecu by jump starting this machine see if you can find a shop that have the kohler test equipment for EFI engines...
If you do end up needing an ECU its probably a kit that converts it to a newer plastic box unit...thats why its so expensive I would think.
Did you know that I have been..and still am a Certified Kohler Expert Technician...since 1998..
__________________
If You Have All The Answers...Except The One You Need...You're Not Trying Hard Enough...
Do The Work
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-03-2013, 04:41 PM
Jusmowin Jusmowin is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Va Beach,Va
Posts: 727
Pistonslapper, still came up with that funky code so I undid the battery and ecu, pluged them back in then tried it again and the code came up 4quick blinks followed by 4 long blinks with the light staying on BTW thanks for the help !
__________________
Cheap is never good and good is never cheap!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:58 AM.

Page generated in 0.09994 seconds with 7 queries